Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ESSEX BOOKCASE

Store Your Belongings in Style with This Bookcase Provide more room for your book collection or favorite photos with the elegant Essex Bookcase. With plenty of storage space for your home office supplies or living room accents, you will love having this transitional piece as a part of your space. Order now to add the sophisticated style of this bookshelf to your home. Adjustable shelves allow you to customize your space. Raised panels and column accents create a stylish look. Quality-crafted using durable cherry veneer. A hand-sanded and hand-glazed finish adds a lustrous shine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 38(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Review 1 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Kikki
wish I had bought more
Date:September 3, 2012
"We are very happy with this purchase. It looks exactly like we expected. We have always been happy with Home Decorators products."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
bearblue
Location:Syracuse, NY
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
great product
Date:July 5, 2012
"I read the review and decided on this item. Came on time, easy to put together just takes some time."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
CLPR
Location:Houston, TX
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice quality for Money
Date:May 25, 2012
"I purchased this bookcase to house my sons many books that he has brought home from college. I wanted someplace to put the boxes of books that are on my floor. I was surprised how great it looks now that it is together and sturdy. My son put it together by himself in just a few hours....and will be a great piece of furniture for his apt. when he moves out. It looks more expensive than it was.
I can always count on Home Decorators!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
sltyler
Location:Bonita Springs, FL
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Sturdy, Nice looking piece of furniture
Date:May 8, 2012
"I purchased the 5-shelf Essex bookcase mainly because of the depth of the shelving. I needed shelving deep enough to accommodate 12"-13" scrapbooks. I was pleasantly surprised by the sturdiness of the shelves, most likely won't bow. Also ordered white, which matched my spare bedroom furniture perfectly! The cardboard packaging it arrived in had been damaged, however the shelving was so well packed inside there was no damage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
geordie
Location:MT
Age:Over 70
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
handsome, well-designed piece
Date:May 2, 2012
"I was hesitant to order because of all the negative assembly and damage reviews, but my 2 pieces arrived well-packaged, complete, and undamaged, and the assembly instructions were easy to follow."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
jimmybobo
Location:Texas
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
A Classic and Useful Piece of Furniture
Date:April 27, 2012
"Excellent product and a great value. Goes together in a very short time. Requires only one person to build. Final product looks more expensive then what it costs. The durability is such that we will be able to pass this down to our kids."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
beck2
good deal
Date:April 19, 2012
"I am very happy with the bookcase. The assembly took two people and went pretty quickly. The only difficulty we had was with the back support bar. We put it in backwards and only realized it when we were finished. I didn't want to undo and redo so we left it as it was and I colored it over with furniture crayons. It doesn't show behind the books. Very sturdy and good looking piece."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
DGTN
Location:East Tennessee
I have owned this product for:a month
Average Bookcase
Date:April 3, 2012
"While I was not dissatisfied with the bookcases I purchased, I was not overly impressed. First, the color is definitely off-white or weathered. It is not a pure, true white. There are also some small areas where the finish has been rubbed off. The assembly was reasonable, though some of the dowels were too small for the holes and required some extra attention. Overall, the bookcases are functional and fine for use in the guest bedroom in which they are located."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
5monkeymom
very pleased
Date:April 1, 2012
"I liked what I say on-line and after reading the positive reviews bought it. The bookcase arrived promptly and assembled easily. It is sturdy and looks very nice."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
vannie
Location:Missouri
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice For The Price
Date:March 5, 2012
"I am using this bookcase for a display shelf. It works great for that. Was hard for my husband to put together although he made it work. Finished product looks good. Heavy, and seems durable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
morrisdancer
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Lovely Bookcase
Date:February 20, 2012
"I was really pleased with the level of detail in this bookcase. I bought the white bookcase and it is very pretty as well as being very solid and strong. It is very well built, was put together in an hour and looks great in my studio space. I am very happy with it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
JAW1
Location:Delaware
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Excellent Product & Experience
Date:February 11, 2012
"The 5-shelf white bookcase arrived quickly and was packed very well. The directions were clear and all the parts fit together nicely. My husband and I assembled it which took about an hour. Great attention to detail, like including white covers for some of the hardware. Once, assembled, it looked great! It is actually very white in color and is a solid piece of furniture. We are very happy with our purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
MHaston
Location:Nashville TN
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Essex Bookcase
Date:February 1, 2012
"This is actually a really nice bookcase. It is heavy, not flimsy like most ready to assemble furniture. My husband had no problem putting it together, but he is very good at that so I didn't expect to have an issue. After it was completed he asked why I hadn't purchased 2 of them so I will be adding another piece in the near future. Shipping was super fast. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
FNAZ
Not a good buy
Date:January 31, 2012
"This bookcase is not very functional/practical as the height of each shelf is too low and most books won't fit and would have to convert the 5-shelf into a 4-shelf and waste a lot of space."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Teach721
Location:Central GA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Affordable Alternative
Date:January 20, 2012
"I ordered a pair of Essex siix-shelf bookcases in white to flank an Essex executive desk I'd ordered on sale previously. Now having three matching pieces gives a semi-custom look. Large, sturdy pieces with the versatility of adjustable shelf spacing, each was available at a good price for outfitting an office on a budget. The bun feet and rounded corners are nice details compared to the typical plain, flat, angular style bookcases, as is the inclusion of safety brackets to bolt the bookcases to the wall to avoid tipping. Color is not white though, but distressed off-white or ivory."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
StacyP
Beautiful Bookcase
Date:January 20, 2012
"The bookcase is nice and heavy. I has the nice metal shelf holders, not the plastic ones. It went together very easily."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
damoyer
Location:Lebanon, PA
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
great piece of furniture
Date:January 11, 2012
"This is a beautiful bookcase. Box came pretty messed up. But the item was packed so well that nothing was damaged. I like that the back isn't that cheap cardboardy stuff. This is made very well. If i need another book case I will definitely buy another one. Wasn't to hard to put together"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
linkalamiller
Location:East Lansing, MI
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:January 6, 2012
"The finish in nice- doesn't look cheap. However, even though I have assembled numerous other pieces of furniture over the years, I had difficulty with this piece, which was really frustrating, since I chose to buy this largely based on the other reviews that it was easy to put together. The "cam bolts" didn't go together with the round pieces well, and I ended up stripping one of them because I screwed in the bolts a little too far. This was my mistake, but the directions don't tell you how far to screw them in. TONS of tiny little screws to put in to attach the back piece, but in the end it's worth it because it makes the bookcase sturdier. It seems sturdy, and looks nice in my daughter's bedroom. Just wish it was a little taller. Overall, I would recommend the purchase as long as you're careful about assembling the bolts."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
jflutterby
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great bookcase
Date:November 28, 2011
"Great bookcase. Relatively easy to assemble. Shipping was super fast! Only wish the holes for adjusting the shelves were evenly spaced for the entire length of sides. Shelves are adjustable but if there were more holes, you could add more shelves."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ESSEX BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Nikidel
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:Under 29
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Date:November 23, 2011
"This bookshelf ended up working perfectly in our home office. The room is a bit smaller and the wall color is darker so we decided to go with white furniture and the color was perfect. I was hesitant because some white furniture can look cheap..but not this. I was also concerned about it matching our white pottery barn desk...and it matched perfectly. Very happy with the purchase for what the price is."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>