Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

OXFORD HIDDEN DESK

Part Storage, Part Desk, All Office Organization Turn a spare room, cozy nook, or unused corner into a convenient, convertible home office with the Oxford Hidden Desk. Spacious drawers keep your supplies organized and within reach, while the top of the desk slides out to form a convenient workspace. When not in use, just slide the top back for a space-conscious look that will shine in any decor. Order yours today! Includes two storage drawers for all your office essentials. Two bottom file drawers hold both letter- and legal-sized documents. A smooth finish completes the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Review 1 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Katlot
Compact desk/ drawer storage
Date:March 11, 2014
"This item fits well in the designated space. love the fact that it becomes a desk at the slide of the top. It does require 2 people to assemble and took us 3 hours to do, lots of little bits to use, but the instructions are fairly easy to follow. It is a shame it is only available in 2 colors. The only downside was that there is an inch long gauge on one of the panels, and of course it is a front one where it is visible. Otherwise very happy with purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Wanda52
Location:Clarksville, MD
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Assembly challenging
Date:November 29, 2013
"Assembly is not too bad if you take your time. Too many pieces, there should be a way of reducing the number of pieces that need to be assembled. The desk definitely needs to be assembled in the room you plan to use it in. Place the desk where you want it before adding the drawers. Once assembled it's difficult to move without help. Love the desk and it has plenty of storage!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kayVDH
Oxford Hidden Desk
Date:November 10, 2013
"I cannot say enough good things about this desk. I have downsized and the need for multi- functional furniture is a must. My first thought was that I would not often use a desk but needed to organize important papers; now that it is convenitly located I find I use the desk 3 or 4 times a week. Very well constructed and the matt finish blends well with other styles and finishes. I actually drove from Denver to Overlake Park Kansas to see the product, ordered, the desk and arranged to have it assembled. After a short vacation in Missouri, turned to Overlake Park and picked up the deck. (Fit nicely in the back of my Subaru.) The staff at the Overland Park store are wonderful, I have just ordered another product which is being shipped to my home. kvdh"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
judilee
Found the desk that solves all storage issues !!
Date:August 16, 2013
"The best purchase ever! The desk is beautiful as well as extremely sturdy and functional. The drawers glide easily and the top slides effortlessly. It arrived safely packaged with no damage. It took 4 hours to assemble by 1 person and this included 4 drawers !! There were no problems while assembling, perhaps because, all the materials were organized and the instructions reviewed prior to beginning. This is the desk that has has a place for everything."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
MarkZ
Location:CT
Age:50-59
I have owned this product for:a week
hidden desk
Date:June 10, 2013
"This desk is well made and very useful. I can keep the top open exposing eveything I am working on. When someone comes to my home, I slide the top and it looks very neat."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
SScrapbooker
Location:Chicago
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Buy it don't let assembly scare you ITS GREAT!!
Date:April 22, 2013
"This is a great product and great desk. I bought this so I can scrapbook in our living room area then "hide" the mess while a project is in flight. The asembly notes from the other reviews scared me but I really needed a desk like this and NO ONE else has one like this. Don't let me mislead you... it is a tougher assembly but it's also because it's well made. My husband and I (well mostly my husband) put this together in about 5 hours. TIPs.... take your time, have plenty of space to lay out all the parts and follow the directions provided in PDF from the website. The ones in the box are ok but there are a few bigger pictures on the website that allow you to be sure you put the sliders on correctly! I can't wait to start my next scrapbooking project, where I can be with the family wathcing TV and then HIDE the mess afterwards! And it looks nice in our family room too!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
morningglory
Location:Arkansas
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great Cabinet/Desk
Date:March 22, 2013
"Little difficult to put together for my husband but very nice addition to my den. Just remember when sliding top shut to pull up a little so it will slide easily. At first we thought we had the slider brackets on backward until we lifted up to slide shut. Not my first purchase from Home Decorators...love this company."
 
My Product Recommendations
CHIRP JEWELRY ARMOIRE
4.8 out of 5(61)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJmomof2boys
Hidden Desk is a Treasure!
Date:March 1, 2013
"I absolutely love this desk. I found myself doing the household bills and other tasks at the dining table. Having two small children made it difficult to be in an office on another floor. When I saw this desk i thought it was perfect. When closed we disguise it with a vase full of flowers and a runner. Guests think it's a server and we've used it to serve food from during dinner parties. We get lots of compliments on it and everyone is surprised when we open it and show that it's a desk."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Madmission
Location:Baltimore MD
Age:40-49
I have owned this product for:a month
I love this piece BUT....
Date:January 7, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great looking piece and love the clever design of the moving top BUT it took me 12 hours to put together. This is not an exaggeration. Let me point out that I am very adept at putting furniture together and have logged many assembly hours over the years. Never have I encountered such a frustrating assembly experience and I'm wondering why, with so many reviews stating the same, that nothing has been done to make it easier. If you do buy this piece, download the instructions from the website as they provide key clues that are not included with the packing instructions and that will save you a couple of hours. As much as I love it, I wouldn't go through the assembly again for a million dollars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
julw
Location:Northern California
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Useful design but frustrating assembly
Date:November 24, 2012
"I looked everywhere for a hideaway desk and although I wanted a wood-looking desk, this was the next best design. It holds a lot of files, desk part rolls out easily and smoothly, and fits my needs pretty well. However, we had the following issues:
- Very, very frustrating to assemble. My husband, thankfully, did it for me, and we've both assembled a lot of furniture, but this took the cake as the worse experience: poorly written instructions and the diagrams didn't match the pieces (a rectangular piece was drawn as a square...). And not as terrible but annoying was that pieces weren't labeled in any way (such as left or right). It took a good half a day to finish the assembly by one person.
- Pieces need to off-gas for a bit, a concern for us due to a young child.
- Packaging was good, but not quite enough since one of the pieces came damaged at one corner. It was light damage and didn't affect much of the piece, plus I thought it would be a hidden piece inside the desk, so I didn't request a replacement. It turns out that this damaged part is right in front, above the drawers, but not worth taking apart to redo.
Note to folks with stairs, this desk is shipped in two parts and each box is very heavy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
beachstyle
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
It glides so easily!
Date:October 27, 2012
"I have been dreaming about this desk for quite some time and when I finally received it, I knew it would be a challenge to put together. It took about 2 hours and we didn't even get to finish it yet because the rails on one of the bottom file drawers was bent a bit. When we placed the drawer inside it scratched the whole drawer up and wouldn't sit flush in the desk. I called customer service and was helped by the kindest representative and they have replacement parts coming our way. On a side note. we are getting a glass piece cut for the top of this desk because it seems to scratch the paint off easily and we hope to prevent that from happening. it really is a functional, elegant desk."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
damian
samson
Date:August 8, 2012
"The design on this desk is extremely good however the painted finish could have been better but overall
I would still and already have recommended this to a friend
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
MrsLMW
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Easiest assembly ever
Date:July 27, 2012
"I just finished assembling the hidden desk and although it recommended having two people I was able to do the entire assembly myself. I have assembled many pieces of furniture over the years but this piece was one of the few that went together flawlessly. All the slides worked without any adjusting and all the drawers and the top slide so smoothly. The piece arrived with no damage and took about three hours to put together. The desk is solid and looks great. A worthwhile purchase!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
cosh
Location:Denver
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Awesome Desk
Date:May 1, 2012
"great desk - very sturdy with tons of storage. Assembly took three hours and two people. The directions were easy to follow.
The finished desk is heavy, so assemble in the same room the desk will be in!
I have my desk in my living room (small downtown condo) and it blends right in. Doesn't look like a desk!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Jillybean330
Location:Medford New York
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Beautiful but Difficult Assembly
Date:April 17, 2012
"I love this desk because I love the way it looks and it totally fits my needs for the space I have. The downside of this product is that it has sooooo many parts to it that it makes it very difficult to put together. I wish the assembly part was easier. My boyfriend put most of it together and he said that it would have been better it some of the sides were labeled by "left" or "right" in the directions. The 4 bottom draws were great but unfortunately I did not know that the top 2 draws would not open normally like the other draws. The desk is easy to close but on carpet it is difficult to open. Also the desk did have a few marks where you could see the wood instead of the black paint. I was more disappointed with the big dent underneath the top left middle draw. In general I love the way it looks and its exactly what I wanted but the fact that it takes atleast 4 hours to put together and had some dents and dings in it was the downside of this desk."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HarlemHaute
Harlem, NY
2 Faux Drawers
Posted September 6, 2012
Hello JillyBean 330,
Thank you for posting a review about the desk, as I wondered what I could do to cover the two exposed drawers when the top was open. Ques: If I purchased dowels and drilled holes, could I make the two drawers open or is the drawer face permanent? Thank you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
MarkV
Location:Dalton, PA
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Excellent Product and Value
Date:November 30, 2011
"This is the most well-made piece of assemble-yourself furniture I have ever seen. It is sturdy and well made. While it will take some time to assemble due to the large number of parts and screws, it is well worth the effort. We bought it for my wife to use for projects and she absolutely loves it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theparkerhouse
Ladysmith
2 questions
Posted December 23, 2011
1. Can the top slide to the right and left?
2. Do the top drawers pull out or can they only be accessed from the top slid open?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
reallylilly
Location:Millstone Twp, NJ
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Functional desk
Date:September 3, 2011
"I love how this desk looks like a dresser when the top is not pulled out. The quality is very good. The desk is heavy so I would recommend putting it together in the room that it was meant for in the first place."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
kalvin686
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Desk
Date:August 25, 2011
"I needed a desk for homeschooling that fit in with the living/dining room furniture when not used for schooling. This is perfect! The top slides easily, there is plenty of storage, and it does not look like a messy desk when we have company over! I have not seen anything like it anywhere else and is exactly what we need!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
JMKM
Location:Boston, MA
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Piece of Furniture
Date:August 13, 2011
"We received the desk in a little over a week. It arrived in 2 heavy boxes that were not in the best shape, but all the pieces inside were in great condition. The assembly is not difficult but time consuming (especially when dealing with the slides).
We ordered the desk in the merlot and the color is beautiful. The piece is the perfect size for our study and has great extra storage. We are very happy with the quality and the price!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for OXFORD HIDDEN DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Chelsea1
First large assembly project
Date:July 27, 2011
"The workmanship on this desk's pieces is great. I have done other assembly on smaller pieces, but with this desk all the holes matched and the directions are actually written to be understood. It is a little too heavy for this 77 year old to handle alone, but with an extra pair of hands it was a snap!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>