Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK

Get Your Work Done with the Artisan Executive Desk Featuring ample storage space and a sizable work surface to help you stay organized, our Artisan 2-Door Executive Desk emphasizes simplicity, utility and natural beauty. The Artisan Collection draws inspiration from the Arts and Crafts movement and upholds its principles of craftsmanship and careful attention to detail. 2-door, 2-drawer design. Distinctive details and a beautiful wood grain offer warmth and the comfortable simplicity of classic Arts and Crafts-style design. Your choice of finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Review 1 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Kholt
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Well Worth Home Office Makeover
Date:March 14, 2014
"We are redoing our home office and the Artisan look is so classic and attractive. The desk is a good size and fairly heavy. I put it together myself and I took my time - just follow the directions and it goes together very well. The finished desk looks great. We have also purchased the small 20 in. table and the double file cabinet for a classic home office look."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
WiscFish
Location:Wisconsin
Very nice desk
Date:February 3, 2014
"I am very pleased with this desk, which was purchased along with the Artisan Multimedia Cabinet and the Artisan File Console. These are sturdy items, which look great. There was only one minor blemish on a back leg of the desk, likely from shipping. The instructions are easy to follow, but it does take a couple hours to put the pieces together. Although it is probably easier with two people, assembly can certainly be done by one."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Blackbird
Satisfied
Date:January 30, 2014
"This is a great desk with excellent styling and functionality. The two boxes and packaging, although not too environmentally friendly, did a fine job of protecting the very heavy components, most of which are made from engineered wood, not natural wood. I could not track the shipments very well since they did not show up in the UPS system until days after I received the shipping notice from Home Decorators. The boxes arrived on separate days, which was disappointing and required twice the attention due to weather issues and not wanting them to be outside too long. I put together what I could from the first box until the other arrived. Assembly instructions were easy to follow despite the usual typos but you should set aside 4-6 hours and a have a good amount of space in which to put the desk together. The components were labeled well and easy to identify and no parts were missing. The keyboard tray/middle draw was assembled incorrectly at the factory and the drawer slides were not compatible with their counterparts in the desk. I requested a new tray and it took over two weeks to arrive, again with not being able to track the shipment for days after notification of the ship date. While waiting I figured out a way to correct the issue temporarily until the replacement arrived, since this piece was one of the last required to finish the job and make the desk fully functional. Everyone at Home Decorators was friendly and competent regarding the issue but don’t expect parts problems to be solved quickly. Overall, if you are patient, you will be happy with the desk. It looks great and is a high quality engineered wood product. I bought it on sale with free shipping which made it cost-effective as well."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
BLynn
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Under 29
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Good desk for price
Date:January 22, 2014
"I have to start off saying I purchased the artisan pieces when they were 40% with free shipping. I purchased the Artisan writing desk, hutch, executive desk, 4 draw file cabinet and double bookshelf. All of the pieces are made of actual wood. That's right wood, not plywood. I will admit there are some pieces that have a wood veneer, but these aren't the main pieces.
I was worried that the macintosh oak would be too dark, but was pleasantly surprised with a nice tobacco red wood color.
I have a few complaints. 1. The desk doesn't have a front panel. 2. The two bottom cabinets are just that big open cabinets. 3. The top draws on the right and left are sooo skinny. 4. It took about 2.5 hours to assemble.....
Other than the complaints listed above I love this desk. It is beautiful and well crafted."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
KarenHinMaryland
Location:Port Republic, MD
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great Desk!
Date:December 14, 2013
"This desk is gorgeous. It arrived very quickly. It took 2 1/2 hours to assemble but there were no problems and everything lined up perfectly. This desk is well worth the price. We would definitely order again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Maggie83
Artisan desk
Date:November 11, 2013
"This is a beautiful desk. It is well made and a beautiful color. It was fairly difficult to put together, but not so hard that most people couldn't do it. Pieces are predrilled and fit together extremely well making it much less frustrating than most put together furniture jobs. We love the desk!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
KJOhio
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Very nice desk
Date:October 10, 2013
"This desk looks very nice..looks like a solid wood desk, nice finish. I gave workmanship a 4 out of 5 stars because I had one door that didn't line up perfectly..closes just fine though. Very minor you would really have to look to notice this flaw. I know because I put it together. Although it does take some time to assemble I, a female :), did not have any issues following the directions and putting it together by myself. Some advice..prep a little..lay all the pieces out in alpha and numerical order and it will go faster. My husband loves his new desk. If you are curious as to what the back looks like it has some decoration...not as much as the sides but it isn't just a flat faux looking back panel. The back also does not go all the way to the floor in the center. It has a piece that covers about 1/3 of the back from the desktop down."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Flatbetty
Location:St Paul
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great Quality - Highly Recommend
Date:September 23, 2013
"The Artisan Desk fits our room perfectly. It look exactly as the photos on the web show. It is sturdy and well constructed. The pull out key board tray, which is disguised as a drawer it a great designer feature.
The oak color of the desk is exactly as it described. It was delivered fast and without any damage."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Davefl
Location:Florida
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:August 20, 2013
"I found the desk, file cabinet and chair very straight forward to assemble. The directions were easy to follow and the qualify and fit of the pieces very good. The file cabinet took less than an hour to complete and the desk took about 2 hours, using only the materials provided and a screw driver. The assembled pieces have a good fit and finish and have a quality look to them. The color of the finish is much darker than depicted in the catalog and on line."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
elgee1971
Beautiful Desk
Date:August 19, 2013
"This desk is gorgeous! The piece is heavy and sturdy and has a very rich veneer finish. Love the pull-down keyboard tray and all the storage. The color is a bit darker than expected, but is a lovely, deep color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
SamHouston
Location:Houston, TX
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Happy with Purchase
Date:June 17, 2013
"Over all I am very happy with the desk. The finish looks very nice and is a solid piece of furniture. Very pleasing Arts & Crafts / Mission look. The assembly takes some time mainly because cam screws have to be adjusted by backing the screws out so that the cams can be tightened. Look at the plans closely and make sure you do not glue dowels in the cam screw holes. Be aware it is a particle board type of product, but has a quality look in my opinion."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
notsohandyman
All day project
Date:May 6, 2013
"We are happy with the desk, the desk top and bookcase for my Dad's office.
The problem was, we had NO idea as to how long it would take to put the items together.
I would have liked to have been prepared for that.
When you order these items, you don't know that even the drawers need to be assembled.
Anyway, my Dad is happy and we were successful.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Tamilee
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Overall happy
Date:April 11, 2013
"I helped my fiance put the desk together. It was a challenge but overall we are happy with the end result. My only complaint is with one of the drawers. No matter what we tried we couldn't get it to line up correctly on the track and it's extremely difficult to open and close. The other drawer was no problem. We just decided to use the faulty drawer for items we don't need to access often."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Novinc
Location:Ohio
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Artisan Executive Desk
Date:April 10, 2013
"Was referred to your website by my sister. Was a bit nervous about ordering furniture online. When the desk arrived, I quickly realized there was no need to worry. Assembly was easy and I have had many compliments about how beautiful the desk i."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Geemom
Location:Columbia, MD
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Really nice desks
Date:March 5, 2013
"Bought two of these desks--one for my daughter and one for me. They really look great and seem to be an excellent value for the money. Finish is very pretty and desks seem solid. Also bought file cabinet and bookshelf. Office now looks beautiful!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
cballi
Artisan Executive Desk Light Oak
Date:February 5, 2013
"This is a beautiful and sturdy desk. I am very happy with the purchase so far. The light oak is really more of a medium color, which I was happy about. Assembly took some time, but really wasn't that hard to do by myself (with a curious toddler running around). A couple pieces came slightly damaged, but customer service was great and sent out replacements right away."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
SFmom
Location:San Francisco, CA
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice desk
Date:January 27, 2013
"We like this desk - we bought two filing cabs, a shelf, and a double bookcase from the same collection. It did however look like it'd been assembled before and then repackaged. Three pieces were mildly damaged, but we decided it wasn't so visible as to be worth sending back. It's a decent value, but don't expect an extremely quality product. It looks nice when assembled though, and I am one with high standards about these things."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
JaxMom
Location:Florida
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Excellent Quality
Date:December 12, 2012
"I purchased the Artisan Executive Desk, 4 drawer filing cabinet and book case. I love all the pieces. Everything is made with solid wood. The quality is excellent. It did take some time to put everything together. My husband is pretty handy, but he did get frustrated at times. It's easier to put together with two people working together. One can read the directions while the other person tries to make everything fit. I love my new office furniture. I'm very happy with my purchases."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Landbarron
Very Nice Artisan Mission Desk
Date:September 14, 2012
"This desk is a pleasant surpise. Overall, very well designed and is a beautiful piece. Assembly went well, (takes about 2.5 - 3 hours) instructions were good overall. Packaging was good with a lot of engineering effort to protect it given the distance it has traveled; however, minor damage to one piece was found due to the drawer guide (with protective tape) gouging into the wood of an adjoining piece in the box. I was able to touch up the damage which was in an area that is not really visible. This desk is not the cheapest, but it is one of the best do it yourself kits I have seen. The mission table was also purchased and is very nice as well."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARTISAN EXECUTIVE DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
ldygdvr
Location:California
Age:40-49
I have owned this product for:a week
Must be very handy and extremely patient
Date:June 20, 2012
"It is a nice piece. However there are workmanship issues including misalignments of pieces to make a cock-eyed connection on the cabinet door. It takes around 3 hrs to put together but once all is said & done it is pretty and makes my office collection complete. This is the hardest piece of this series"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>