Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2

A Buffet Adds Style and Storage to Your Home From our Oxford Collection, this buffet offers a visually interesting, minimalist design with straight lines that will instantly update the look of your dining room or kitchen. With architectural sensibility, the buffet is form and function combined. Store away extra sets of dishes or silverware in the two drawers or behind the two doors where you'll find three shelves on each side. Order yours now. Available in a variety of finishes. Expertly crafted for years of beauty and use. Coordinate with other items from this popular collection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 of 34(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Review 1 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Nonicknamehere
Location:Florida
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Very Pleased with Purchase
Date:January 20, 2016
" I don't usually write reviews for these kind of purchases. I always figure the company is charging me for the item, if they want to advertise they should be paying someone for what they write. However, having said that, there were so many people that reviewed this item and spoke of the difficulty in assembling and the appearance of the buffet after assembly that I thought I would give my opinion. I almost didn't purchase this just because of some of the other reviews.
I was a little worried when the two boxes arrived from the delivery company. They were squashed, half-open and torn. However, the furniture pieces were well packed and protected. There wasn't a single scratch or dent anywhere. Packing department gets a big "well done" for this part of the product.
Let me say at the very beginning that I think this might be the best piece of "assemble yourself" furniture that I have ever purchased. When you're finished, it doesn't look like an "assemble yourself" piece of furniture. The cam locks, cam bolts and wood dowels all fit perfectly and tightened the furniture with no gaps. Even though there's no adjustment possible, the doors aligned well and looked really good. The drawers are solid, spacious and fit perfectly.
First, there are a lot of parts. AND, every single piece and every bag of hardware was clearly marked and easily identifiable. A word of warning though, there are no extra hardware pieces. Every hardware bag has exactly the number of pieces required for assembly. If you are assembling on a rug and unknowingly drop a screw in the nap of the rug, you have to find it. No extras.
I used a small Phillips screwdriver even though I was tempted to use my electric driver. Most of the screws are small and I think would strip fairly easily if over torqued. Hence I used a small screw driver and was extra careful to only tighten as much as necessary. Also, every pre-drilled hole for the screws lined up perfectly during the installation. Nothing had to go in at an angle or odd alignment.
Next, the instructions clearly state that you need two people to assemble the buffet. However, it has been my experience that if I can assemble something in 2 hours by myself, it will take 3 hours if my wife helps me. Lots of questions and suggestions. Anyway, I tried to do as many steps as I could by myself and only used her help when I needed the extra hands. The instructions were clear and easily understood. For the most part, the illustrations were accurate and helpful. I'm going to detail my assembly, step-by-step. My steps correlate to the steps in the instruction manual.
Step 1. Assemble the Door. Took 22 minutes to assemble 2 drawers.
Step 2. Assemble the inner liners. Took 9 minutes. A word of warning. The screws are small and easily strip. Don't over tighten.
Step 3 and 4. Outer sliders. Took 6 minutes.
Step 5 and 6. Outer sliders on middle partition. Took 5 minutes.
Step 7. Assemble adorning panel. Took 11 minutes.
Step 8. Assemble magnets. Took 4 minutes. You might as well install the magnets all the way forward at this point. Otherwise the doors won't hold shut later in the installation.
Step 9 and 10. Assemble access panels. 7 minutes.
Step 11. Assemble bottom panel. 5 minutes.
Up to this point I had done all the assembly by myself.
Step 12 and 13. Continue to assemble the bottom panel. This requires 2 people. Took 10 minutes.
Step 14. Assemble the top panel. Word of warning!!!! Move the buffet close to where you are going to use it for the remainder of the assembly. Once you put that top panel in place, this thing is heavy and not really designed to be moved in a state of partial assembly. Took 2 people and 11 minutes.
Step 15. Assemble the foot. Took 2 people and 2 minutes.
Step 16. Assemble the doors. Pay attention to which direction you install the hinges. I could have done this step by myself but it was easier with my helper holding the door on it's side. Took 15 minutes.
Step 17 and 18. Install the doors. This was the only step that I had to stop and redo one step. The screws used for the outside door hinges are different than the screws for the inside door hinges. Because the inside door hinges install with screws that are screwed in towards each other (on the inside partition), they are shorter (E1). I used the same screws that I used on the outside doors (H1), ran out of screws, and had to go back and remove screws and then reinstall correct ones. Big shout out for my wife catching what was wrong. Took 2 people and 20 minutes.
Steps 19, 20 and 21. Assemble shelf supports. One person, 10 minutes and moving them to different adjustments until she got the shelf arrangement she liked.
Step 22. Install the drawers. 2 minutes.
Step 23. Assemble the back panel. This thing is 3 different pieces and is kind of tricky to hold and get installed. Definitely 2 people. Took 35 minutes. Almost all the screw holes lined up perfectly which was surprising.
Total assembly time: 174 minutes (just shy of 3 hours).
We love this piece of furniture! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Cooper888
Location:California
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Purchase
Date:December 20, 2015
" Got this on sale, so value was excellent. Received as expected. I have another piece from the Oxford collection which was purchased over 4 years ago. Arrived in 2 large & heavy boxes, nothing damaged. Husband assembled by himself with the exception of me holding the doors while he screwed in the hinges. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Puregator
Seemed like a good idea at the time...
Date:December 10, 2015
" This piece is not the quality I had hoped for. One of the doors is marred on the outside as well as there being a spot on the top. As I was assembling the buffet, many of the screws failed to grab and would just spin forever.
I realize this is comparatively speaking an inexpensive piece of furniture, but I had hoped for better than this. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Gr8fl89
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Pretty Easy to Assemble!
Date:September 4, 2015
" My son and I (mostly my son) assembled the Oxford Buffet last night. Took maybe three hours. My son stated the the assembly directions were spot on and we had no problems. I love my new buffet which fits perfectly between my two white glass china cabinets and they match pretty well. I may change out knobs on the china cabinets to the brushed silver as current ones are dark brown.
I have to say that as I awaited delivery I was nervous after reading some of the reviews people had written about assembly nightmares but we had zero problems. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
selectivebuyers
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
not sure I'd purchase this again
Date:June 8, 2015
" the overall appearance is nice until you see the doors, which are not in alignment and there isn't capability for adjustment. also since doors aren't plumb and level they don't always stay closed.
the overall wait was not good as it took months to get. then shipments didn't come in the same week so couldn't put it all together at the same time.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Rubidoo2
Location:California
I have owned this product for:a week
Very Classy and Useful
Date:November 3, 2014
" All the parts arrived in good condition. And the buffet looks great. The only negative is the large amount of time it took to put it together - and my husband is an engineer. But we would purchase it all over again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Greenleaf790
Location:RI
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Not Happy
Date:October 14, 2014
" I would really like this buffet if not for a few issues. The assembly is quite involved which is not necessarily a negative factor, but my husband has about 3 hrs. into this project and he is halfway done. At this point, we noticed that the bottom piece of the cabinet has a surface crack. Luckily, it is on the inside and not visible. The crosspiece on the bottom, front, which connects the two sides of the buffet does not connect properly, leaving a visible gap. At this point in the assembly process, we cannot deconstruct this, re-pack it in the boxes that have been torn open, and go through the expense of returning such a heavy item, so we will live with it. I intended to use this piece in my sunroom for extra storage so it will suffice. I would not recommend this purchase for a dining room. If that was my intent, I would have had to return it. If not for these issues, I would have been quite happy with the looks of the piece. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
sjkblueeyes
Good product
Date:September 18, 2014
" I really like this cabinet but it is kind of difficult to assemble. The instructions are not very good so if you are not good at assembling things, I would not recommend it. The cabinet does look very nice though, once assembled, and it has lots of storage room which I really needed for cookbooks and small appliances. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
MinnBob
Location:St Paul, MN
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Very happy with this purchase!
Date:October 31, 2013
" The Oxford buffet was exactly what I was looking for. It looks fantastic in my kitchen and the workmanship is very good. Overall, it is an attractive and functional piece of furniture at a great price! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
kathycuzin
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great value!
Date:September 18, 2013
" We bought this hutch to use in the home office. It is a goodlooking piece of furniture. Doesn't look like we assembled it ourselves. My husband put it together and was concerned that the doors were not adjustable, but it fit together perfectly. I would definately recommend this to my friends. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
varco950
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Well Satisfied
Date:September 12, 2013
" Assembly took approximately 5 hours. Two people definitely required. Arrived quickly in 2 large, heavy boxes. Instructions are clear for the most part and not exceptionally difficult. A very minor issue with door alignment, otherwise does not look like a piece of self - assembled furniture. Would buy again. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
IowaChild
Location:Green Cove Springs
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Looks and Lots of Storage
Date:July 13, 2013
" This is the second buffet we purchased from Home Decorators, the first being the Harwick 4+2. Both are great storage pieces but what I really liked about the Oxford is that each cabinet has two adjustable shelves while the Harwick only has one per side. Please note that the shelf tabs are plastic and if you are planning to store heavier items, it would be prudent to purchase some heavy duty metal tabs and change them out (as we did). I would have given this piece a solid five stars but one of the drawer guides was off causing the drawer not to seat correctly. Also, the paint was chipped off two of the corners on the top which we covered with a black permanent marker. Fortunately, my husband was able to fix the drawer so that it shuts properly. Even with the couple of problems we had, I would still recommend this item. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
mdbuckeye
Location:MD
Fully Satisfied
Date:July 3, 2013
" Delivery was prompt. Assembly was straight-forward (about 2 hours). The piece was exactly as described and completely meets our need. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Stegosaurus
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Can work as a media cabinet
Date:June 28, 2013
" Got 2 of these to go on either side of fireplace. Looks great! Cut large holes on backing piece of one to allow for extra depth, airflow, and wires to come out for stereo and media equipment (tuner, dvd, etc.). Husband impressed that back is put on with screws, is pretty sturdy for DIY furniture (i.e., not cardboard). Since this piece is so big, you may want to have 2 people to build it, but I think it would be possible to build alone for someone with moderate skill. To carry the original shipping boxes into the house, definitely need 2 people. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
1213
Location:kalamazoo, MI
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Good Piece
Date:January 1, 2013
" Assembly took an entire day but the result is a good quality item -- have to be very careful with the instructions to assembly, follow the pictures VERY carefully or you have to back track... "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
ChichiWhite
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Very Satisfied
Date:November 27, 2012
" I purchased two of these for my dining room. They look very elegent side by side. They provide much needed storage. Assembly was not easy due to the many parts. Everything we needed was included and, although it took several hours, it was not too bad. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Noddi
Oxford Buffett
Posted June 12, 2015
Did you buy a black dining room table to match this from home decorators? If so, which one, the one I purchased doesnt match the correct black, not sure if thats a big deal tho!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
marcom205
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Looks nice. Thought it would come assembled.
Date:November 27, 2012
" good piece. assembly required. long wait to arrive. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Sherree13
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
I love my buffet
Date:February 4, 2012
" The buffet looks realy good with my other white furniture. I put it together by myself, it took me awhile but it was worth it. It looks just like the picture on the web page. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
lubar
very nice
Date:January 24, 2012
" i purchased 4 peices in a collection of furniture to finish off a computer room. it looks wonderful . i am extremely happy with my purchase and i am always looking for more for my home. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for OXFORD BUFFETT 4+2
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Mscyp
Location:Michigan
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Perfect fit!
Date:January 23, 2012
" I purchased two of these cabinets to put side by side in my dining room. It worked perfectly. They were not hard to put together, just time consuming. The material quality is good. The black finish looks nice. Great purchase! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>