Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT

Convert Your Light's Look with a Conversion Kit As easy as changing a light bulb, the cloche shade of our Ryder Instant Pendant Light Conversion Kit is as stylish as it is easy to install. No remodeling hassles or expense. Installs in minutes without tools. Adjustable cord length allows changes any time. Decorative ceiling plate hides recessed light and reduces conditioned air loss. Brushed nickel finish completes the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Review 1 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
naynay0181
Location:Hallandale Beach, FL
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Gorgeous pendant!
Date:March 31, 2014
"A little tricky to use with our existing recessed lighting since the area was not screwed into the ceiling but otherwise easy peezy. The clear glass and shape is fantastic and when used with a vintage bulb...perfect."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Handyman24
Good product but works best in large can lights
Date:February 24, 2014
"They don't provide much info with this so I'll try to help. They are bigger and heavier than they appear. I thought it would look good over a breakfast bar but it's too big for that location and the glass shade is too heavy for a 4" recessed light. A lighter, smaller shade would work which I will look for at the home center.
The label says to use with 4" and 6" lights but 4" may not be strong enough where the socket attaches. Check what you have.
Someone commented about the canopy cover not fitting tight against the ceiling and they are correct. I may have to use a couple screws to fix that problem.
The max. bulb suggested is 75 watt.
Like I said it's a pretty good product but be sure it'll work for your location.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
KatyAnd
Location:Cape Girardeau, MO
Love the light
Date:February 24, 2014
"I ordered this fixture to put over my kitchen sink. With the adaptor it makes my husband's job of installing super eacy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
ADEL
Location:Live in Chicago, install in Florida 2nd home.
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Brilliant Idea for converting Recessed Cans
Date:February 15, 2014
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought 5 of these to hang over dining room table. Read all reviews first. Two common complaints were: (1) hard to hang evenly, and (2) hard to get escutcheon plate tight to ceiling. This simply was not an issue at all. Rather than wrap excess cord around handles, I measure exact length, made a loop, and secured with a nylon wire cable tie, and hung loop over handle. Then I merely tucked excess wire cable up in recess can. Getting escutcheon plate snug to ceiling was also simple matter. These are awesome --- wish I had invented, could be rich."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
HomesByShep
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great product for the cost
Date:September 26, 2013
"Love the ease of installation. A little difficult to get all 3 pendents to hang at the same exact height, but doable. Really no tools required so an amazing option to have pendents in the house without calling an electrician.
The quality of glass isn't super high (some imperfections, not perfectly clear) but it feels like part of the design so I'm okay with it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Jumpgal
Location:GA
easy installation
Date:September 16, 2013
"Very easy to install. I had to install three in a row and getting all three to hang evenly was also easy. They look great. Would definitly recommend."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
HomegoodsGirl
Nice light!
Date:September 11, 2013
"Very pretty light, and a sure upgrade from my 80's recessed light. I agree with others in that you can't snug the base tightly against the ceiling. I'm sure there is a solution but I'd consider it a small design flaw. Otherwise, no complaints."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Ship
Location:Saint Charles, mo
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:August 18, 2013
"I installed myself and my brother in law said I did a great job. Friends were over last night and everyone loved my new light."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
DrSteven
Location:Corona, CA
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Great Purchase
Date:August 18, 2013
"The pendant light is exactly what we were going for. We wanted something transitional. With the vintage bulb installed, it has a modern appeal. Looks great over our kitchen sink."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MomInIowa
Pretty but frustrating
Date:August 18, 2013
"This product is technically easy to install since there is no hard wiring involved. However, it is challenging to align more than one light at the same level. I hung two lights in my bathroom and it took a lot of finessing to get them at the same distance from the ceiling. The method for raising or lowering the light is merely to wrap the cord around an internal hook. This flat hook is several inches wide, and wherever the wire ends up at the end is the center of where the light will hang. I had a lot of extra wire for my installation, and it was hard for me to get the last bit of wire to hang in the middle of the socket.
The glass appears to be permanently attached; I can see no way to remove it to clean. So, it's perfectly clear and pretty and kind of industrial-looking, but it's in a bathroom where children regularly spray everything with toothpaste splatter and I'm not sure I am going to be able to keep the glass looking nice forever.
When the other kid also wanted new lights for his bathroom, I looked locally for a similar product and found something that was a little bit more expensive, just as challenging to hang precisely, but the glass is removable (and replaceable)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
in2itiv63
Location:Cincinnati
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great Updated Look for my Kitchen!
Date:August 12, 2013
"I was looking for a quick and easy update for the recessed lighting in my kitchen. These pendant lights couldn't be more perfect! They were so easy to install (the hardest part was trying to make sure they hung down evenly...but I am a perfectionist!). And, the Edison light bulbs I purchased look great through the clear glass. My one knock would be the 1" scratch in the glass. That is a quality check that needs attention. It's hard to notice unless you are looking for it. I didn't want to go through the hassle of returning it and possibly waiting another 2 months to receive a replacement (this is a popular item). Other than that, they look great!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Fl82shopper
Location:Ormond Beach Florida
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great vintage look
Date:August 8, 2013
"I purchased these to replace can lights that were installed over the two vanity sinks in my master bath of the home I recently purchased. With tall ceilings the wall was so bare over the mirror. These lights look great and go well with the sub way tiles and vintage looking faucets in the bath. I did have to wait about 6 weeks as they were on back order but I am very happy with them. They were packaged very well and arrived in perfect condition. They were on sale when I purchased and were a great buy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
2996
Location:PHX, AZ
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:August 6, 2013
"Easy install very cost effective It added great touch so easily right over kitchen sink. Took almost a month to arrive is the only con"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Lightlover2
Location:SC
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
So Easy
Date:May 21, 2013
"This could not be any easier to install. What a quick way to change a look for your room."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
angelanc
Great light
Date:May 20, 2013
"Love this light was very easy to install. The only thing that could be better would be a way for the base plate to attach to the ceiling tighter. Very happy with my purchase!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
oldladywho
Location:Wisconsin
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Buy
Date:March 17, 2013
"Took a long time to get but it was worth the wait. It took only 5 min to install and was perfect for over my kitchen sink. Good price I saw a similar light in another catalog for times the price."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Chrysanthemum
Better than I had Hoped
Date:March 14, 2013
"These lights installed easily, and look fantastic. They are such an improvement over the old recessed lighting!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Cheekyone
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Novel Solution
Date:September 24, 2012
"Very easy to install. The directions were clear and correct. I installed the lights over my kitchen island. The fixtures with Edison bulbs instantly took my kitchen from the 1980s to 2012."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
eastcoast
Nice Conversion Pendant
Date:May 8, 2012
"The pendant is really pretty, super easy to install (basically as easy as screwing in a lightbulb). The only thing is that the plate that covers the recessed light, does not sit very tight against the ceiling. That's not noticeable, but I just thought to mention it. It's larger in real life than appears in picture."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RYDER INSTANT PNDT LT CONV KIT
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
abg1972
Great Light
Date:February 28, 2012
"Easy to install and dramatic difference in what was previous recessed ceiling lights. Would definitely reccomend"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>