Product Reviews

ESSEX LATERAL FILE

Keep Documents Hidden and Organized in a File Cabinet Beautiful raised panels, ball feet and column edges make this file cabinet a beautiful piece for storage and organization. Place in your home office as an excellent complement to our Essex Executive Desk. Ball-bearing slide drawers. File drawers hold letter- and legal-size folders.
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Review 1 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
WordGoddess
Location:North Carolina
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Very Nice File Cabinet
Date:November 27, 2013
"Very nice looking file cabinet. Heavy, stable. Directions for putting it together were sometimes vague. Ended up with one piece attached backwards, but not in a place that is visible. Directions did not indicate which side of pieces were front or back. This would have been very beneficial with some of the pieces to the drawers and the back. Heavy--Takes 2 people to construct."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Erin1024
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice, but you need a professional
Date:August 30, 2013
"This is a nice cabinet when it is assembled, but it took my handy man a while to assemble. So you need to add in at least $100 to the cost of the cabinet for putting it together.
I am fairly handy, but it was too much for me."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Bikerchickrlr
Location:Alabama
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
THE CAMS ARE CHEAP & INSTRUCTIONS MISNUMBERED
Date:August 23, 2013
"Got mine out to assemble last night. Had done one years ago very similar, great cams on that one. These CAMS ARE SO CHEAP you can bend with fingers. I broke 3. Called for reorder JUST NOW 08-23. Told could be 2 weeks.....Hello, this is spread out over my living room and holiday coming up..JEEZ. I asked since it was their broken cams, couldn't they overnight or 2 day...NOPE!! Sending me double cams. Hope I can get enough out of that to assemble the piece : ( : ( : ( Also, if you get one, do the feet on the bottom first, then turn over and put in the cam bolts and dowels THEN do the sides, not sides first. There is no way to stabilize this as a unit then pick up the whole thing and place on the base. (unless you are the hulk or have LOTS of clamps which I don't.
Furniture piece will be beautiful but If the cams don't hold up, it will wobble later on. I may just buy me some sturdier cam bolts. Also workmanship of the bolt screw in holes...need metal liners with a stop. Part of my problem is bolts screw in and stop at different levels. Not sure I'll buy anything else from this place if all their stuff has gone down like this. I want stuff that's gonna last cause I will be USING it, not looking at it. Price would be great if stronger cams were included.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ChineseJunk
Material looks ok but shoddy design - Don't Buy
Date:March 31, 2013
"You will need to make a few trips to home depot to get proper Cam locks and Cam bolts. The included ones are very cheap and will break with minimal torque applied. You will also need brackets to stabilize the thing and a lot more wood glue than is included. Save yourself the trouble and stay away"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Gingerella
Location:Washington, DC
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Functional and beautiful
Date:January 25, 2013
"I have limited room for office space. I bought the Essex sliding desk, my most challenging project yet. I needed an additional filing cabinet and this it perfect. Simple compared to the desk assembly and the furniture looks stunning in my den."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Melanie21
Disappointed
Date:January 11, 2013
"Some of the pieces were banged up, including one of the side panels which was coming apart. Had to use touch-up paint to cover the blemishes in several spots."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Susan1964
Location:New York, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Beautiful piece of furniture
Date:January 10, 2013
"I love the way the file cabinet looks like a piece of furniture. The color is beautiful. It does take two people when putting this together. The only issue is the draw slide on the top draw needs to be better, had the same issue with the slide on the draw on the corner desk."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
mudpuppy
Kind of a pain
Date:December 3, 2012
"I ordered the Essex desk in Cherry and it was great. Went together like a snap and very solid.
I then ordered the Essex glass door bookcase. Excellent also.
Finally ordered this file cabinet, also in cherry.
A week later it shows up, only it's black. No biggy; everyone makes mistakes. They sent me a return label and I sent it back.
A couple of weeks later my new cherry file shows up, only it's black...again.
Customer service sends one out before I've sent the second one back which was considerate.
Unexpectedly when it arrived it was not black.
However unlike the desk and bookcase assembly is a tiny bit tricky.
Be sure and firmly clamp the unit laterally before you tighten the top and bottom camlocks and of course square it up while it's clamped before screwing on the back panels.
I didn't clamp mine and while I made sure it was square it spread just enough when I locked the camlocks that the drawers would not engage both side rails simultaneously so I had to reloosen everything and start over with clamps.
Works fine now though, so I'll still recommend.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Petnur
Nice file cabinet
Date:September 18, 2012
"The file cabinet is nice for the price. The packing at the warehouse was not good. The top and one drawer were scratched but it was not in shipping."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Gee1
Location:Webster, NY
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice filing cabinet
Date:September 7, 2012
"The filing cabinet was a little difficult to assemble. You definitely need 2 people for part of the assembly. A anchor kit for the wall is included and you probably should use it has the cabinet is a little bottom heavy. We had a little trouble with the top drawer closing properly but it is not troublesome enough to return the cabinet."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ESSEX LATERAL FILE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Momoflocos
Location:Lakewood Ranch, FL
Age:40-49
I have owned this product for:a week
Worse than AWFUL!
Date:August 24, 2012
"DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! Where do I start? This product appeared as if it would be a very nice looking file cabinet for our study. It was the biggest piece of junk I have ever bought, and thankfully, HD is taking it back for a refund. The instructions were awful (steps were not in the right order & pictures not accurate), several cams broke off trying to assemble, screws provided were too small, when trying to put on a leg, the insert fell out and we had to superglue. Then, after all that, when we inserted a drawer, the slide assembly fell off the side of the cabinet and the little balls in it went flying everywhere. At that point we gave up. JUNK, JUNK, JUNK."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.