Product Reviews

COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE

This Craft Base Gives You Myriad Options File, store and display with our Martha Stewart Living™ Craft Space Combination File and Open Storage Base. This multifunctional piece is expertly crafted and scratch-resistant. One open cubby, one shallow drawer and two file drawers. Your choice of finish. Scratch-resistant surface.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Review 1 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
LaurieJane
Location:Darrington, WA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Terrible to assemble
Date:December 8, 2014
"I waited til this was on 30% off sale to purchase and I am glad I did! I would have been extremely irritated if I had paid full price and then spent a whole day to assemble it. The little cam bolts just don't work! I am a veteran of assembling Ikea kitchen cabinets and they weren't this difficult! I had really wanted to purchase the rest of the Martha Stewart craft room line, but now I am glad I didn't. I have assembled this just well enough to function, but I will guarantee you when we move, it will go out to the curb with a "free" sign on it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
ThymeLeaManor
Location:Denver, CO
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Storage for small room
Date:August 28, 2014
"Although it goes together like many of the "do-it-yourself' furniture it is sturdy and heavy. I was pleased that it looks as nice as it does... not cheap. The drawer bottoms are flimsy compared to the rest of the piece, but I am happy with it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
gracef
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Excellent product for the money
Date:August 26, 2014
"I thought packaging was good and assembly was fairly easy. Directions were pretty clear; I'm pretty handy but goofed on a couple instructions when I got too cocky. All the parts were there, nothing missing and had no issues. All the holes aligned up perfectly and when completed, was sturdy with no wobbles. The wood is soft, so no need to overdo tightening the screws. Tip: when putting the top on, i would make sure that the screws reach through near center before putting in <that piece to lock it down.> Minor blemishes on an interior edge molding but not enough to want to return. I recently remodeled my home and had traditional white custom cabinetry made throughout the house including kitchen, large entertainment center, and mudroom. This piece fit nicely with the decor, is well made, and looks like quality furniture."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Pywacket22
Craft & file cabinet
Date:July 7, 2014
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This worked out well for me. My bills and crafts are done in the same room. This allowed me the file cabinets for bills and the drawer and shelf for extra craft storage. This is a heavy piece of furniture. The drawers were a little stiff and had to be manipulated a bit but it all worked out in the end. Good finish. Am thinking of buying another piece in this set."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
chooches
Location:Oregon coast
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
HAPPY HAPPY
Date:June 4, 2014
"I am very pleased with this piece. The drawers are sturdy and hold a lot. The open storage I am using for my catalogs, how-to books and a little eye candy. It's sturdy, heavy and well finished. I'm serious, this furniture is HEAVY, so be prepared to leave dents in your carpet. ;o) It went together smoothly with my husband's help. I ordered 5 pieces of furniture and only one had minor scuffs in the paint. All the other pieces are perfect. I am very happy with my purchase and that I took advantage of the free shipping promo."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Designerforever
Location:Lower Michigan
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Good purchase
Date:April 2, 2014
"Hard to put together. Good quality overall, but some imperfections in paint finish, drawers fitting. Some plugs missing."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
CrafterHappy
Great cabinet!
Date:February 5, 2014
"It takes some time to put together but is worth it. Looks nice and sturdy.
The only problem I have is that it comes with so much packaging material. Just can't be good for the environment."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
organizermom
Location:Melbourne, FL
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
wonderful for scrapbook room!!
Date:January 18, 2014
"This has very heavy (sturdy) wood pieces. The drawers pull out very easily and are smooth. I have it in WHITE and it looks Terrific!!! Putting it together was challenging although I have a lot of experience with HomeDecoratorsCollection furniture because I've ordered at least one piece per year for many years. The worst thing about putting this together was the top cam locks did NOT lock in well or easily - it was a struggle to get the heavy top panel to hold together to the actual sides of the rest of the unit. Because of this setback, all total it actually took me about 6 hrs. total from opening the 2 boxes to a finished piece in place in my scrapbook room. I'm very proud of it now! but it wasn't easy-it was worth it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Schoolmom11
Good purchase
Date:January 16, 2014
"Purchased this for my breakfast area where all the school clutter seems to end up. It is perfect for that purpose. Pleasantly surprised that unlike other assembled furniture, the back panel is a decorative solid panel. Placed storage hutch on top and looks lovely. Follow assembly instructions PERFECTLY. Even though a piece looks the same as another, it may not be. All parts are labeled, and assembly is perfect (drawers will be straight), if you follow instructions. Did not give 5 stars because, though the item description specifies it, the shallow drawer DOES NOT come with dividers."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Jennifer124
Location:New Jersey
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Looks nice
Date:January 13, 2014
"I bought this along with a few other pieces from the Martha Stewart storage collection. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the furniture, however with this particular piece I felt the drawers were very flimsy. Everything else was solid and yet for the drawers it was flimsy pieces of wood. Putting it together one of the screws wouldn't even screw in tight as it seemed the wood stripped immediately. I was just confused by the difference in the sturdy material for the rest of the unit and all the other pieces I bought. The drawers also don't close very well. Other than that it looks great and is very functional."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
QUILTIE
HEAVY
Date:January 11, 2014
"THIS WAS THE HARDEST TO ASSEMBLE BECAUSE OF THE DRAWERS, THE PICTURE OF HOW TO DISASSEMBLE THE DRAWER 'RAILS' SHOULD BE ON THE PAGE WITH THE INSTRUCTIONS OF USE. PLEASE NOTE THE KEY IS IN THE BLACK TAB ON THE SIDE RAIL, YOU HAVE TO PUSH DOWN THE BLACK TAB TO REMOVE THE INNER RAIL FOR MOUNTING TO THE DRAWER AND SIDE PANEL. WHY THEY DID NOT INCLUDE THIS SIMPLE INSTRUCTION BEFORE THE APPLICATION PROCESS OF THE RAILS IS CONFUSING."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for COMBINATION FILE STORAGE WITH OPEN STORAGE BASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
KamiW
Location:PA
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Dissappointed with the drawers
Date:December 6, 2013
"I ordered three of the file storage cabinets. They were very easy to put together. I did have to order replacement parts because some were damaged in the shipping process. All three units do however have an issue with the way that the drawers line up. I followed the instructions when putting the together and have made sure that they are in the correct side of the unit. No matter what I try the drawers don't line up and look as if they are broken. This looks awful and has actully hindered the function of the drawers as they slide in and out. I was so excited to finally have furniture for my craft room and have purchased other Martha Stewart items that I am very happy with. This particular unit is very disappointing."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.