Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE

This Unique Open Bookcase Makes a Style Statement The design details of our Christina Open Bookcase include an arched, molded top, a tapered base and a distressed finish applied by hand using techniques from the Renaissance Period. Four adjustable shelves and two fixed shelves offer plenty of display space for books and decor pieces; two drawers let you squirrel away even more items. Six shelves: four adjustable and two fixed. Two drawers with metal knobs. Hand-painted finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Review 1 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
judeT
Nice looking bookcase
Date:November 6, 2014
"I am very pleased with my purchase of this bookcase, it was just what I was looking for and the color I was looking for which is an unusual color for furniture. It is pretty sturdy. My one complaint would be that the back board on one side was not hammered in thoroughly so had to do that myself, but overall I am very satisfied and it looks good in my room."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerla2014
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Beautiful, adjustable , could be more distressed
Date:October 6, 2014
"This is a beautiful piece that looks pretty high-quality given the price.
It seems sturdy enough. Though It does seem the shelves may not hold a ton of weight?
What's also great is the shelves are totally adjustable anywhere.
Note that the shelves do not have any distressing on them which to me isn't ideal/stands out a tiny bit, and overall the piece is just lightly distressed – not distressed as much as I personally like, or on all edges. But not reason enough to not get it, it still works and is beautiful.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Barcibarb
Location:Central TX
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Pleased with Purchase
Date:September 11, 2014
"I bought two of these bookcases and they are very stylish. They work well for my location. The manufacturer includes a kit to install to prevent tipping over and I would recommend using it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Lea1
Location:Michigan
Age:Under 29
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Just the right size!
Date:September 9, 2014
"This adorable bookshelf was just the right size I was looking for to place in our small guest bedroom! All you have to do is place the shelves in the location you want. The assembly was quick & easy. **But please keep in mind, you will need someone to help you get the furniture out of its shipping package & into your desired room of your home. The delivery company will not do it for you & will only place it in your garage."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Bluesrunnerdog
Location:Fairview Heights, IL
Age:Over 70
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice style!
Date:September 8, 2014
"These shelf units look great in our family room, as they flank our fireplace. They are sturdy and well-made."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
neec
Nice piece!
Date:August 4, 2014
"This bookcase works perfectly in my beach house. The distressing gives it a beachy touch. It's exactly what I was looking for and it definitely adds to the room!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenpineapple
Beautiful Shelves!
Date:July 31, 2014
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These are gorgeous white with slight gray "distressing" on edges. I bought two to flank the window in my reading nook. My husband wants to embellish them by inserting small lights to illuminate each shelf, but for now I am resisting. It is a two-person job to get these shelves put of the enormous boxes. Ask the people who deliver them for help."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Loralie
Great Find
Date:May 17, 2014
"Love, love, love this bookcase. I ordered 3 for my new office and they look beautiful, come fully assembled, and are well made!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
NKK228
Location:Hudson, OH
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Works for me, but some slight issues
Date:May 12, 2014
"I ordered this in the GUSTAVIANO WASH. In the catalog and online, this finish appears to be a creamy, off white with taupe/beige distressing. I should have contacted customer service regarding the finish as suggested in other reviews. The finish is true white, with grey distressing. The distressing is paint, not truly distressed. Therefore it did not work in the room I originally intended it to go in. Instead, it works better in my beach chic family room. This piece is very much cottage style. It arrived relatively quickly after shipping. I had to wait about a month for it to ship because it was on backorder. It comes fully assembled except for the shelves and it is very heavy. The box is huge (It didn't fit through my standard front door in the upright position) and the delivery people don't take it out of the box or unpack it for you, so be prepared to do some moving. Workmanship is OK. Better than some, but not better than others. The paint finish on the outward facing part of the shelves is "rough" and semi-transparent. Meaning you can see the unfinished wood through the paint slightly. Think of a very heavy wash, rather than opaque paint. My shelf also came with the backing on the left side appearing to pull away from the frame. I fixed this by pushing the backing back into place, but the finish on the inside if the shelf isn't clean. It should be caulked or more securely attached IMHO so you don't see the seam."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Tashacakes
Location:Connecticut
Beautiful bookcase
Date:April 19, 2014
"Very pretty bookcase. The finish is a bright white with a subtle distress/aging on the edging, appropriate for the style. I love the molding on the piece. I bought two of these to flank my white marble fireplace and they really make the room looks gorgeous. There was some minor separation in the wood of one of the little drawers that was easily fixed with a little wood glue. A set of shelves were missing as well, but HD sent out replacement shelves promptly. Overall, I am happy with the purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anna53
I have owned this product for:a month
Date:April 18, 2014
"This bookshelf is very nice, although not quite as nice as it appears in the picture. The independent delivery company took about 2 weeks of communication before they delivered it and were hard to get in touch with, but were very pleasant."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
MiniDivaATL
Location:Atlanta, GA
I have owned this product for:a week
M.I.I.
Date:January 27, 2014
"Made In Italy--the new standard for quality in the 21st century. This bookcase is as beautiful in person as it is on screen. I bought two for my living room to achieve a built-in look and they do not disappoint. The furniture has a distressed finish so it looks like a vintage family heirloom. The color options are somewhat confusing so ask customer service if you are not certain. You won't be disappointed with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
rs1207
Location:San Jose, CA
Nice Bookcase
Date:January 16, 2014
"Loved it in the catalog. Love it more in my office"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
redtopper
Location:WA
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Just about Happy
Date:January 9, 2014
"I would be 110% happy if the color representations in the catalogue or verbal names let you know the undertones. I thought I would be getting a sage and it was blue. I copied off the pallets offered, looked with a hand lens and in the sunlight. You did make a disclaimer about color representation in printing process. The problem could have been avoided if the color description was less embellished for effect and mentioned the under-tones. Luckily I'm a bit eclectic in decor and liked the bookcase because of style and workmanship."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
footballfan
NJ
colors
Posted January 27, 2014
I'm trying to get a color with blue undertones Could you please tell me what color you ordered.... Thanks
Customer Avatar
annner
Posted January 26, 2014
What color did you buy???
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Ratings-Only Reviews for CHRISTINA OPEN BOOKCASE
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1