Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST

Contemporary Bedroom Furniture with Classic Shaker-Style Design The versatile Hawthorne Four-Drawer Chest has a distinctively simple look that sets it apart from typical bedroom furniture. Understated details adorn this chest, bringing expert craftsmanship and timeless beauty to contemporary bedroom furniture. Four drawers provide plenty of space for garments and accessories, while the slender design makes this chest of drawers an easy fit into any living space. White and Black finishes are made of engineered wood. Oak and Cherry finishes are made of pine wood.
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Review 1 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
slogirl
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Liked it so much I bought another one!
Date:March 21, 2013
"This little dresser makes the perfect bedside table. It is bed height, doesn't stick out too far into the room, moves easily for bed making, and its 4 drawers hold all of the messy stuff one needs in the top drawer (pencils, pills, skin cream, etc.). I was able to put a couple of books, my Kindle and my reading glasses all in one drawer. That still leaves 2 drawers for socks or whatever. How cool is that! My husband was so jealous that we had to get another one for him."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Zplace
Almost sent back
Date:December 10, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I ordered two of these after seaching for the perfect bedstand. These were perfect as they were higher for the high poster bed and had a satin black finish. I am a women with mechanical skills but almost sent the second back after I was half way through the first one. I did not expect to have to put together the entire piece. But I was not going to let it get the best of me so stuck it out and glad I did.
Forget the screwdriver. Must have a electric screwdriver/drill. The finished product was perfect and sturdy. The finish is very nice. The frustrating part was the angle screws in the drawer did not have starters holes on the drawer fronts and a chalenge to get in. I gave up on the knobs as there were no holes and the wood was so hard I could not get a screw through them. I ended up getting brushed nickel knobs from Home Depo and saved myself time and frustration. They look great and add a polished look.
The finished piece looks great, the perfect size and lots of storage for magazine, glasses, books, magazines, etc. And it is higher than most bedstands.
The second one went together in half the time after a learning curve. I would recommend this but if you are not a hands on, mechanical inclined person, better have a husband, brother of guy type to help you out.
Very happy with the end result."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
lkn1
Great Quality for the Price
Date:June 13, 2012
"Easy to put together, great finish pleased with purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
clbjr
excellent value
Date:April 30, 2012
"Looks even better than pictured and went together very eaily. a very nice product especially for the price."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
kycat
Location:South Carolina
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:March 26, 2012
"The color is amazing it matches my bedroom furniture exactly. Great piece of furniture."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Park18
Location:New York, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Good Value
Date:October 14, 2011
"I like this 4 drawer chest. Many years earlier I purchased other bedroom pieces from the Hawthorne Collection. The finish (dark cherry) from the older pieces does not match the finish (dark cherry) of the new 4 drawer chest. Maybe different wood was used.
Also, like another purchaser, I split the drawer knob almost in half when I was attaching to the drawer. This needs to be improved for future chests that are made.
Overall, a very nice value"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
grandmajj
Date:September 7, 2011
"Appearance was as advertised. A nice-looking piece, not too difficult to assemble. However, we were disappointed that there was a chip in the front. It would be helpful to add a bit more hardware to the kit."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
KMA1
Location:Burlington, Vt
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Perfect Purchase
Date:July 2, 2011
"This is the best purchase I ever made for furniture you have to put together yourself. All the holes lined up, the instructions were very clear and best of all, the quality of the wood was much more than I expected. This is definitely not your typical do it yourself furniture. I will definitely purchase from here again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
SpunkyGrandma
Location:Richland, WA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Just Right for Me
Date:May 2, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This chest was just the right size and had the right look for the space I wanted to put it in. I got it in white. I am very happy with it. I am an older grandmother type, and I got out my power screwdriver and assembled this thing all by myself. The parts were well labeled, and the instructions and pictures were very clear. It probably took me at least half an hour just because of the multiple pieces. However, they all fit together nicely. I feel it is nice furniture quality and not cheaply built. The box was heavy, but there was adequate cushioning, and all the pieces were well protected. I put it in my kitchen-dining area instead of a bedroom. I don't have enough drawers or cupboards in my kitchen for all my stuff. I now have this very lovely extra storage piece-- you know, everything must have its place."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
EMM1
Great value for the price!
Date:February 14, 2011
This customer did not provide a text review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
voodoo
a little wobbly
Date:February 8, 2011
"The trick to assembly is pilot holes for the screws. It looks great- just don't know how it will stand up to daily use."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
EFGH
great
Date:January 18, 2011
"The Hawthorne 4-drawer chest was exactly as described. The chest is an excellent value and matches my current (insert name of high end furniture store which is also a character in Vermont folklore here) furniture beautifully... perfectly! The drawers are sticky but I think with a little soap they will glide nicely. My chest arrived in perfect condition and quite quickly. I am very pleased."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Novembersharon
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Cost pennies looks like millions
Date:September 25, 2010
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Very satisfied with these chests, we bought 2 for each side of the bed. Useful, functional, stylish, just the right height. With beds so high, with the super fluffy mattresses, the traditional night stand is too low. The Hawthorne chests are a perfect height and offer additional storage for anything you choose. The assembly was fairly easy and the piece is as sturdy as any fine piece of furniture already assembled, it is tight and heavy, 50 lbs. I would recommend this collection to all and any of the collections that are solid, yes the chests are solid hardwood."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Cowbelly
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Looks Great!
Date:July 1, 2010
"Assembly wasn't the simplest, but the final product looks great.
Careful attaching knobs to the drawers, I had one split in the middle while attaching it on the 7 drawer version (holes in knobs could be drilled out better).
4 drawer versions is a little simpler because many of the pegs were already inserted? Not a fan of the split back pannel on the 4 drawer version (one piece on the 7 drawer), but you never see it.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Jeny
Location:Key West, FL
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great quality - easy to build
Date:June 18, 2010
"I was somewhat apprehensive about purchasing furniture online but I was very pleased with the quality, the way it was packaged to prevent damage and easy assembly."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
DebbieG4
Location:Georgia
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice Quality
Date:June 12, 2010
"The description and measurements were accurate so it fit in the space perfectly. The chest is a very nice quality and seems sturdy. I bought this for extra storage for my twin 7 year old daughters."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
chaka1
Location:Conneaut, Ohio
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice bedside stand
Date:June 1, 2010
"Really like the looks of this cabinet. Very easy to assemble but was frustrated that many of the dowels were missing making assembly difficult. I could not match the appropriate piece precisely and had to guesstimate if the pieces were lined up. Quality control at the factory should check into this. Other than the missing dowels, I would say this is a very good value for the money."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Lilly923
Date:March 11, 2010
"This product does not tell the customer that it needs complete assembly. Not even the drawers are assembled. Because of this my product is not assembled yet as I have to wait for my son-in-law to assemble it. I was very disappointed. I figured it would need partial assembly but not complete."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
ligabr
Love it
Date:January 26, 2010
"The chest is perfect for my bathroom that has no built-in drawers. I was going to order two more for the bedroom but it doesn't match my other oak furniture."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HAWTHORNE 4-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
karid
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Good value but...
Date:October 26, 2009
"On the good side, the product was the easiest I have ever had to assemble. Instructions are clear and all the pieces fit as described. The product was also packed very well. Despite having dents and even a couple of tears in the cardboard packaging, there was no interior damage.
However, I was disappointed to find out that the back panel of the four-drawer chest is not solid wood. It is a lightweight fiberboard -- and not even a solid sheet but two pieces held together by a plastic sleeve. Perhaps I should have expected this for the price but... The product could be much improved with a solid wood back, even a lightweight one."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>