Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST

You'll Love the Classic Look of This Chest of Drawers Understated details adorn this chest, providing expert craftsmanship and timeless beauty. Seven drawers provide plenty of space for garments and accessories, while the slender design makes this chest of drawers an easy fit into any living space. White and Black finishes are made of engineered wood. Cherry finish is made of pine wood.
Average Customer Rating:
4.113 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
0
50 of 62(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Review 1 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
barbaralbb47
Location:Hill Country of Texas
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Okay good but not great.....
Date:February 22, 2014
"I thought for over $300 I would be getting a pretty good dresser. Not so much.... it looks really nice, I must admit. I got the black finish. It is a soft black with very little shine. That's just what I wanted.
The package had some damage and two drawer sides were broken. Home Decorators was very helpful about sending me replacements. Should be here in 5-7 days. That's much appreciated!
So, what's the problem, you ask? It just isn't the quality I was expecting. The wood is very soft, a good quantity of it is pressed wood, and some there is some kind of "paper" construction in the legs. One of the legs was slightly damaged and its wasn't wood... Fixed it with a little glue and a magic marker.
The drawers slide on wooden bars rather than metal drawer slides. Because of that, here is no drawer "stop", so a child could easily pull the drawer completely out. That doesn't seem a good thing.
The dresser is also smaller (in terms of storage space) than I was expecting. While the exterior is 20" x 14", the drawers are only 14"x 11".
This is my fifth piece of furniture purchased from Home Decorators and the first time I have been disappointed in the quality.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
GraceM
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Proceed with caution
Date:December 13, 2013
"I was looking for a narrow dresser to fit in my closet and this one works for that purpose. It looks pretty good overall, just know you are buying prefab furniture that requires complete assembly.
It took 2 hours to assemble and that was by a man that is handy with tools. There were 3-4 stickers on every piece that were glued on and trying to get them all off left marks. The paint chipped on the first day on one of the drawers."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BIBuyer
Hawthorne tall narrow chest
Date:September 5, 2013
"The Hawthorne line is well-made and very good for the price. I would highly recommend it. I particularly appreciate the ease with which the drawers work. Such is NOT the case with other lines of bedroom furniture sold by Home Decorators."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
IrritatedinHouston
Location:Houston, TX
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Does the job.
Date:March 21, 2013
"If you are expecting quality furniture, think again. This is a relatively cheaply made piece of furniture. It does the job it was purchased for, doesn't look too bad for what it is and is in a bedroom that does not get a lot of use. It will probably look nicer once I replace the knobs. It is a very light weight piece. If you have children you may want to anchor it to the wall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Ellembee
Location:Ohio
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
I had higher expectations
Date:January 26, 2013
"I wish I could give this product a higher rating, but the difficulty of assembly and actual dimensions of the drawers lowered my rating. I took me (1 person) at least 4 hours to assemble. I was able to do it myself until I got to the last step of putting the knobs on, which took much longer and was the most difficult step. Holes had to be drilled into the knobs. Also, I'm not sure why the screws for the knobs were so long (almost as long as the knobs themselves). I ended up buying shorter screws which helped considerably.
I also have to take some points off for the incorrect interior dimensions of the drawers. The specs on-line say the drawers are 5 inches high and 14.5 inches deep. They are actually 4 inches high and just over 11 inches deep (the 14.5 inch width is correct). So, unfortunately, some of the stuff I planned to store in these drawers won't fit.
I was impressed with the organization of the parts and materials for assembly. The directions were also pretty straight forward (although I did see some minor typos)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
musicmaker26
Very Pleased!
Date:December 27, 2012
"We searched ALL OVER the internet as well as in stores for the THINEST chest or drawers we could find for our small bedroom. We only had a certain amount of space, and this one fits beautifully! The quality is really pretty good, and my husband put it together with not too much trouble! It looks very nice! This is PERFECT for a small room or apartment!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
njf7
Location:Chicago
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Lovely guest room dresser
Date:December 18, 2012
"This dresser looks lovely and is great value for price. It was slightly move involved to assemble than other pieces I have purchased but I believe it will make the drawers stronger (wood screws are used). The dimensions given are accurate but the dresser is quite small (drawers don't hold much). For our guest room it is perfect (there isn't much space so this provides a little storage which should be ample for our purposes)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
cg81381
Location:East Hampton, NY
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:about 6 months
nice piece, tough assembly
Date:November 28, 2012
"I first want to state that I love Home Decorators and continue to enjoy many great purchases from this site! I jus placed another order for window treatments today! But...
This particular dresser was just annoying. The final product looks pretty nice but the instructions didn't match the parts, a piece for one of the drawers arrived broken and my poor husband spent hours with a power drill forcing the screws together because things weren't perfectly lined up. For this item - the effort just isn't worth it. Go for a similar pre-assembled piece for the same price Gothic Cabinet Craft."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
SWgirl105
Location:Southwest USA
I have owned this product for:a month
Overall poor quality
Date:October 15, 2012
"I bought two of these (white), and one went together okay (just a few minor problems). The other had serious issues, and while the drawers essentially work, it is noticeably slanted to one side. The nightstands in this group are fine, but I would avoid buying this piece."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
GraniteStater
Location:Manchester, NH
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Just fine when finished
Date:July 12, 2012
"Assembly time is 2-3 hours and don't over tighten screws as they will strip the wood holes and make assembly more difficult. In the end when the back is nailed on it becomes more rigid and tightens up."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Sanderfeld
Location:New York, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Disappointed
Date:June 7, 2012
"This is the second bedroom chest of drawers I've purchased from Home Decorators. The first was much larger, but oddly, much more easy to assemble. This smaller chest was a nightmare to put together---and I got the handyman from my building to help me!--and when it was completed, a couple of the drawers were sticking and it was tilting slightly to one side. (Again, the first item I purchased turned out perfectly so I've done this with success before.) This newer product seemed more cheaply made, much harder to assemble (the assembly estimate in the instructions was a joke) and, overall, a big disappointment. I won't make a similar purchase again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
xyzxyz
Date:April 27, 2012
"This chest is solid wood and very well designed to make for a sturdy piece of furniture."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Brant
Location:Alexandria, KY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Good for what it is
Date:April 23, 2012
"I needed a chest that would fit in a closet, yet still hold a decent amount of clothing, and this fit the bill perfectly. Holds my underwear, socks, etc. Drawers are on the small side, so I wouldn't expect this to work well for bulkier clothing. Construction is good. I've learned to use carpenters' glue when assembling furniture such as this - gives it extra rigidity and strength, and should help it last longer."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
kentuckyhome
Location:Louisville, Kentucky
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice Chest
Date:March 16, 2012
"I am very pleased with this chest. We purchased 2 of them thinking we could put them together in one evening. That did not happen. We needed help from a VERY handy guy with VERY nice tools to put them together. Now that they are assembled, I love them. They look very nice in our walk-in closets and provide needed storage space."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
SJJ402
Location:Illinois
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Qaulity wood
Date:March 2, 2012
"Ease of assembly was a pro.
Beautiful in my bedroom
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
brittr19
Great Chest of drawers
Date:February 22, 2012
"Ordered two of these chest of drawers and absolutly love them. My husband put them together and took about a hour and a half to two hours per dresser and that was with breaks. One chest of drawers arrived with a small dent in one of the legs but it looks like it occured during shipping and since it was on a leg that would not be seen and did not seem to cause a structure problem I didn't see the point in shipping it back. A few holes for the dowels were a little too deep but a little bit of glue in each hole helps solve the problem. Just love the way they look."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
melvin
Practical & Attractive
Date:January 31, 2012
"The oak version seems well finished - time will reveal its durability. Assembly time was more like 1 hr. and not 30 minutes....Product made in Brazil instead of China....."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ZoeLu
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice piece of furniture
Date:January 13, 2012
"This turned out to be a really nice surprise for something that you have to put together. It's sturdy and looks great. It took about an hour for my husband and I to put it together, but it was pretty easy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
charlieanddan
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
good price
Date:December 12, 2011
"i was looking for a chest that would not take up a lot of floor space but give plenty of storage for socks, underwear etc., this was perfect! Good workmanship for the price."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HAWTHORNE 7-DRAWER CHEST
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
THISISSTUPID
Date:October 14, 2011
"tHE INSTRUCTIONS SAID 1/2 HOUR TO ASSEMBLE. THAT WAS LAUGHABLE. IT TOOK FAR LONGER, AND I'M USED TO ASSEMBLING THINGS.
AS USUAL, THE STAFF AT THE STORE WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND HELPFULL."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>