Product Reviews

HAMILTON BOOKCASE

Create an Elegant Setting with This Open Bookcase Provide storage for books, DVDs and more with the spacious Hamilton Bookcase. Tastefully restrained decorative details are inspired by early American style but work beautifully with any decorating theme. With a sturdy construction, this furniture is designed to last. Order yours today.Durably constructed of solid hardwood and hardwood veneer for exceptional quality.Rich finish and elegant trim provide appealing style.
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (175 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
60
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
8
134 of 175(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Review 1 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
drdownen
I have owned this product for:a month
Date:April 17, 2014
"The service was very good, however the instructions were obviously not written by anyone who was well versed in the English language. The instructions did not match the parts list and made it necessary to assemble and re-assemble the furniture several times. I bought four bookcases and they are not quite the same which makes it difficult since I wanted to put them on the same wall. Also, the drilling of the shelf brackets is for very small books and makes it necessary to drill additional holes if you want to put normal size books on the shelves. Expect to do some customizing when you assemble these shelves. They do take a little extra time and effort. They are made from wood and not substrates, but I did have to reinforce the joints."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Gizz
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Needs better design
Date:February 21, 2014
"The unit was not like picture, the bottom shelve left gap between front molding and shelve 1/2 gap"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
nvlin
Not a good value
Date:February 21, 2014
"If I hadn't already unpacked everything and started to assemble this bookcase, I probably would have sent it back. This wasn't the most expensive bookcase, and the quality certainly reflected the price. I would even say I paid more than what it was worth. I haven't had any problems with products I've ordered from Home Decorators before, but this one is sub-standard in my opinion."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Enginedude
Location:Elgin, Illinois
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Good value
Date:February 6, 2014
"For the money, these book shelves are very good. The only complaint I may have is there needs to be better padding or protection as one set of shelves had a little damage. It was not much."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
JudithH
Location:Des Moines
Age:Over 70
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
JudithH
Date:January 26, 2014
"Comes completely unassembled but it was very easy to put together."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
WmAbe
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Exceeding Expectations
Date:January 15, 2014
"Well tooled with precision cuts and well placed guides for screws. Easy to follow instructions. Very handsome additions to my home office."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
PBS007
Location:northeast, US
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Not up to Par
Date:December 11, 2013
"Was very disappointed in these bookshelves. I purchased two for my husbands office. Assembly is fairly easy, but making them sturdy and square was not. I was unable to get them as tight and firm as I would expect from a bookcase of this type. Additionally, the bottom front panel is not fitted well and shows an eighth inch gap between it and the bottom shelf.
Overall, they look nice, but need careful handling."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ryryry
Date:December 3, 2013
"Both side panels are damaged. Each has a chip of wood missing on the forward edge; one 2", one 7".
This is not a "wide" bookcase. It is a narrow, or at best standard-width bookcase with a "wide" mantel."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
pegm13
Location:North west Indiana
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
looks good but came damaged
Date:November 6, 2013
"I had to wait to get my son to help me put it together and when we started to assemble it the side had a splintered section that was pretty badly damaged, I had to call and they said they would send out a new piece. It looks like it will be very nice once it is assembled."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
XFileGuy
Location:Upland, CA
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
nice looking piece
Date:November 6, 2013
"Overall, the piece is nice for the price. It has an elegant appearance. One small section of the trim was broken off in the box but I was able to find it and glue it back on, no one will notice. Directions are not horrible but take some common sense to decipher."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
VirginiaResident
Location:Springfield, Virginia
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Acceptable Bookcase
Date:October 18, 2013
"Overall, I am pleased with this Hamilton bookcase. However, there is an aspect of the bookcase's design that could have been better. As noted in another review, there is a gap (approx. 1/8") between the base and the lowest fixed shelf. I corrected this by purchasing a piece of 1/2" quarter-round trim, cutting it to a snug fit, staining it, and then affixing it to conceal the gap. This solved the issue, but in my opinion, a better design would prevented the need for this remedy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Gitana
It did the job
Date:September 15, 2013
"We were looking for a relatively inexpensive cabinet that was not too cheap so that it was presentable in our living room, for books and picture frames. This cabinet did the job and it was very affordable. If you follow instructions the assembly is not difficult with two people."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
popo
Location:Magnolia, Texas
Age:Over 70
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Good Bargain
Date:September 5, 2013
"The bookcase looks like it cost more money that it did. Easy assembly, overall finish of case realistic , number of shelves good."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
daiseydime
Location:ontario
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Good Value, nice appearance
Date:August 28, 2013
"I purchased two bookcases. They shipped quickly and were relatively easy to assemble. The finish looks good and they hold my books"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Loila
Location:Long Island, NY
I have owned this product for:a week
Not as nice as it appears
Date:August 23, 2013
"I don't know what I expected for the price, but this book shelf is nice looking in the pictuire, and OK if you don't look too closely in person Assembly directions are AWFUL and not complete, so I had to "wing it" I intended it for my foyer, but the quality dictated a basement placement"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
emjo2
Location:Akron, OH
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice looking but easily damaged
Date:August 19, 2013
"The unit looks very nice and was easy to assemble, but the wood is very soft and although we had shipping difficulties that may have contributed, there were several nicks and dents in several pieces when we got it. It is very sturdy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Bavomania
Location:Puyallup,Washington
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice Addition to Household.
Date:August 18, 2013
"Beautiful and very helpful for someone who loves books only a few problems,the shelves when we put them in should fit closer to the wall of the shelves. And thepilot holes should have been measured accurately.
But I'm happy I bought them."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
jchadwick68
Location:Georgia
Age:30-39
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
A Solid Addition
Date:July 24, 2013
"We've been very pleased with the bookcase altogether. It is well built, attractive and a solid piece of furniture. Assembly was not overly difficult though it is a two man job.
As noted in some of the other reviews, there is a very small gap that shows at the bottom shelf where it meets the moulding but it's not a glaring issue."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Yehtz
Location:Plano, TX
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Does not worth as much as it looks or said.
Date:June 4, 2013
"It should not be called as a solid hardwood bookcase. The quality of the bookcase is overstated."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HAMILTON BOOKCASE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
bellene
Overpriced
Date:May 15, 2013
"I was very disappointed in this bookcase, I have assembled 5 bookcases in my home over the past few yrs and this one, not only was missing pg 2 of instructions, it had to be taken apart 2X's in order to make the top slide on. Apart from that the materials used were poor quality, the inside of bookcase was flat pressboard without a wood finish. The exterior has a rough finish, unlike the picture on line. Was NOT worth the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>