Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF

A Versatile Wood Bookcase with Classic Mission Design Our bookshelves have become favorites of decorators who seek sturdy, attractive decor in the classic Mission style. This gracefully simple design offers visual charm along with function and durability. Choose a Mission-style bookcase with three, four, five or six shelves according to your needs. Hardwood and hardwood veneer construction with a satin-smooth hand finish complete a wood bookcase with distinctive style. For unique bookshelves, nothing beats this Mission-style bookcase. Bring clean lines and graceful proportions to your home with our Mission-style shelves. In your choice of finishes, it's easy to match these bookshelves with any decor. Our wood bookcase will serve you handsomely for years, with a look that never goes out of style. Order now.
Average Customer Rating:
4.398 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(123 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
47
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
0
111 of 123(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Review 1 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
appletree
Not the best workmanship.
Date:August 16, 2014
"The bookshelf looks nice now. BUT my husband had to re-drill the holes for the top because it originally did not overhang evenly on both sides! Also, there are 6 holes on the top shelf braces which should have had little plugs to hide them, as there are for the side holes where the screws went in. The stain was obviously sprayed onto the side walls, but places were missed. One shelf started to crack when he screwed in the screw. So...I do like the style, but the workmanship could have been better."
Review 2 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
MLLL
Perfect fit
Date:March 31, 2014
"I needed a small bookcase. This one works perfectly. Pretty easy to put together and seems very sturdy."
Review 3 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
LaceJacob
Location:New Hampshire
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Declining Quality Control
Date:January 24, 2014
"I bought the 29" 5 shelf about 6 months after the 14" smaller tower form of this same bookshelf. The quality had markedly declined. That one had been very easy to put together. This time, the holes and dowel plugs in the back braces didn't line up on any of the pieces, not one! My husband had to whittle down the dowels to make them fit in. They were set in crooked, too, and poorly centered so that one was too close to the finished edge and had actually split and cracked the piece slightly; we reset it with glue and a clamp hoping it would hold and put it on the bottom. It was had a much rougher finish and there was black debris spread along one of the uprights. I badly needed the shelf and it wasn't for a formal show area so we made do but I certainly wouldn't be able to recommend it to anyone, which is a shame. This was my third purchase from Home Decorators and each one has been a little less satisfactory than the last so I probably won't order again. If you can't rely on a standard of quality over even six month on the same product....!"
Review 4 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
bowen605
Great addition to laundry room
Date:January 16, 2014
"I purchased this bookcase to use in the laundry room, adding a nice wicker basket on each shelf. The bookcase was easy to assemble until it came to putting on the top (mantel) piece. All of the pieces had pre-drilled holes except this one. It's really a guess as to where to attach the mantel crossbars, and they don't go where you think they would. I guessed wrong, and now the top isn't where it should be. However, this is a very nice bookcase, and I would definitely recommend it, just be careful with the top piece."
Review 5 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
tucsoncat
Location:Tucson az
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great addition to the bedroom
Date:October 28, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this for my daughter's bedroom. She has lots of books. The piece was easy to put together and really looks great for the price. l looked at other bookcases that were much more expensive and didn't necessarily look that much better. I would recommend the case and shopping at Home Decorator."
Review 6 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Lion123
Location:PA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Bookcase
Date:October 24, 2013
"We had purchased three bookcases previously that were the same stock number as the one recently purchased. We had planned to add a fourth. This bookcase, however, was not exactly like the other three. The shelves were not at the same height. The bookcase was not made as well, there were dents and indentations in the wood, and I could not get it to line up with the others. We had to put it into another room."
Review 7 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
erik
Location:upstate ny
Age:50-59
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
simple, elegant, beautiful
Date:August 18, 2013
"i bought a matching pair so it took a bit of time to assemble the first one, but after that the second one was a snap.
solid beautiful wood, handsomely proportioned and designed. a classic, should i say heirloom? seems extremely likely."
Review 8 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
LisaLu
Nice looking bookcase
Date:July 30, 2013
"Got the three shelf version. Fairly easy to put together. Finish is nice and looks great. Got it on discount and for the price is a very good deal."
Review 9 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
caridean
Mission 29.5" 5 shelf bookshelf
Date:July 12, 2013
"Product was relatively easy to assemble and looks nice. A little disappointed in the strength and stability. Shelves are secured only with 4 screws (do not rest on a supporting piece), so as is, this is not a bookshelf for seriously heavy books (which I needed). So I reinforced it by putting a molding strip under each shelf that provides extra support, and also secured it to the wall with screws. I stained the small modling strips, so they are hardly noticeable. With these alterations it is secure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Denise5000
Great product
Date:July 4, 2013
"Well constructed, heavy, but not too heavy. Feels like quality. Not flimsy or cheap. Great space saver. I replaced a big armoir with this for a smaller room. I have books on it, a TV on top, and plants in the middle. Not difficult to assemble. Arrived timely and in great shape. Always love merchandise from Home Decorators."
Review 11 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
tebowfan
ExcellentBookshelves
Date:May 27, 2013
"Easy to assemble. It was exactly like in the photo. Good and sturdy. Great product"
Review 12 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
WalterW
Location:Central PA
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Excellent quality and value!
Date:March 14, 2013
"There are many products like this one out on the market but this is one of the best. The item has a very nice finish to it and is quite sturdy. This is my second one. I purchased them to replacement old pressboard bookcase that finally just wore out. They are easily assembled by one person: took under an hour. They have a simple elegance about them that is especially appealing. I would recommend them to anyone. I plan to get more in the future."
Review 13 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
ConstantTim
Good value purchase
Date:February 13, 2013
"These bookshelves look great and hold books just as they should."
Review 14 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
harmonylives
Location:Lancaster PA
Nice sturdy shelves
Date:December 7, 2012
"I bought two of these shelves some months back and just ordered a third. They went together easily - clear instructions and no misaligned holes as in some other products I have had. Nice sturdy shelves made of solid wood - they are loaded down with books and have not bowed at all - they are attractive and well made."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
EddyK
Location:Westchester, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Mission 29.5 W Bookshelf
Date:October 2, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a sturdy, attractive open design bookcase that was an added addition to existing bookshelves. It looks great and was fairly easy to assemble by one person; however two gets the job done faster. All parts and instructions were in order and the cost was reasonable too."
Review 16 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
tjgchg
Seems a little flimsy
Date:September 28, 2012
"This shelf looks okay but not quite as substantial as other, similar bookcases we have. The sections have fairly obvious joints between the sections of wood, the finish is easily damaged (box was gouged on arrival and one shelf has a chip as a result), and the case sways a bit if it is standalone. We would have gotten two fold-up bookcases, which I have found to be sturdier, and stacked them, but we're in earthquake country now and wanted a once-piece tall bookcase. Oh well."
Review 17 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Smaz
Not sturdy, but good looking
Date:September 3, 2012
"The bookcase looks good, but it is not meant to hold much or be moved once it is put in place. Assembly takes time because the screws are difficult to put in place with the small tool provided. I have two shelves of books on it now and it shakes when I pull one out to use. That's not because I did not assemble it correctly, but because its design is poor and the materials and connections are flimsy. So, it looks great in the corner of my office but I will not be ordering another one."
Review 18 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Fabs
Location:ca.
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:August 21, 2012
"Ordered the wrong item. Wanted the fold out version, but do to the location of them on your web I got these instead. They are better then expected for the price."
Review 19 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
finaleyes
Location:New Mexico
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Affordable Mission-style Bookcase
Date:August 13, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought one of these bookcases about 10 years ago. It is still standing solid. When I needed another bookcase, I went online and searched for Mission-style bookcase and found the very same kind (or at least I was hoping it was exactly the same). As you can tell from the photo, it IS the same, and I set them up side by side so it looks almost like one case.
I had a little trouble putting it together; it would have been very simple with two people. The directions were good, the parts were all there, and everything fit together just the way it was supposed to.
For the price, I don't see how you could do any better. If I need a third bookcase, this one's going to be it."
Review 20 for MISSION 29.5"W BOOKSHELF
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
EbonyJ
Location:Virginia
Age:60-69
I have owned this product for:a month
mission 29.5" Bookcase
Date:August 13, 2012
"It was relatively easy to assemble. Once assembled it is
a nice, sturdy bookcase for my collectables. I love it.
"
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>