Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ULTIMATE SHAG RUG

Bring Style and Texture to Your Decor with This Contemporary Rug Our plush, contemporary Ultimate Shag Rug coordinates with today's most popular decorating schemes. Try it in the living room or entryway to bring fresh style to your decor. It is normal for Ultimate Shag rugs to shed fibers for up to three months, depending on care and usage. Regular vacuuming will help pick up these fibers and keep the rug looking fresh and clean. Canvas-backed synthetic rugs are durable enough for those high-traffic areas. Hand-hooked using 100% wear-resistant Derclon.This rug features long yarns for a luxurious pile. Varying thickness in the yarns creates comfortable texture. Part of the Shag Collection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.123 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
10
99 of 122(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Review 1 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shagfriendly
You will love/hate this rug!
Date:March 12, 2015
" First I want to say that I ordered this rug on a Friday night and it shipped on a Monday and arrived on Wednesday so awesome service from homedecorators but now for the story of my rug which has parallels to the movie gremlins if anybody is old enough to remember that movie.
Prologue: I read all the reviews prior to purchasing and have to admit I was nervous after reading all the shedding comments but I was looking for soft and everybody agreed it was soft. I also needed an olive color to fit the room décor and not too many carpets come in that color. Finally, nobody could beat the price. Yes, I saw a few for slightly cheaper in other places but all were reviewed as thin and sparse and I wanted the “ultimate shag”.
Scene 1: Rug arrives and first check is color which is exactly as I had hoped, a true olive, not army camo, not sea green, but exactly the color of an olive in a martini glass. I smelled and was happy that there was no chemical or off-putting smell. I unrolled in designated spot and thought how adorable and perfect (just the way the guy felt about Gizmo when he first saw him in the Chinatown shop). The similarities start to get eerie here as like Gizmo, the ultimate shag is also from China.
Scene 2: I look for furballs or signs of shedding and think this doesn’t look too bad. But I decide to give it a quick vacuum. Seems like the right thing to do. Wrong. Running a vacuum over this rug is like giving Gremlins a bath. Suddenly tufts of carpet are multiplying like gremlins in a bath and flying around mischievously.
Scene 3: Ohhhh nooooo!! The reviews are right. But like Billy in Gremlins I fight back. I furiously vacuum (a great workout btw trying to move your vacumm back and forth over gremlinshag). After three passes back and forth, my vacuum feels hot to the touch and starts wheezing.
Scene 4 (set in Appliance ER): I have to triage the bagless vacuum which is hot to the touch and viciously choked and smothered in fuzz by gremlinshag And the clear tubing is blanketed from top to bottom and the roller almost immovable from strangulation froml fibers that wrap and tighten like a boa constrictor. But after twenty minutes of surgery, I save the vacuum!! Worried, however, that breathing in all the carpet fibers will give me mesothelioma.
Scene 5: I cautiously run the vacuum over the carpet making sure to stop and remove gremlin fuzz and it seems like I’m taming the carpet. I stop and my back is sore from all the work. I decide to lie on the shag and stretch out. Oh so comfortable, oh so soft and cushiony, but not too high, just right. This shag is like the flawed boyfriend you know is a project but you love him anyway and might live together happily ever after.
Scene 6: Wrong! Manipulative scheming carpet got me to lie down so he could cover me in tufts of carpet fuzz. Like zebra mussels on the hull of a ship, I transport the fuzzballs all over the house. I was in the kitchen making a snack and somehow fuzz is on the counter, in the bathroom on the tile, and stuck like leeches to my corduroy slippers. I am going to return this in the morning.
Scene 7: I vacuum once again and call it a night after my Dyson cries “uncle”. In the middle of the night I wake up thirsty and walk across the shag in bare feet. Sooo Nice!!! This carpet feels amazing!! Okay you can stay.
Scene 8: The morning sunlight streams into my apartment and here and there I see little olive tufts of fuzz. But the rug looks great and it’s going to make a fine companion and I’m going to keep it. I’ve decided it’s more like a lovable pet that just keeps shedding rather than a gremlin or a manipulative boyfriend. I’ll have to brush (vacuum) regularly but in the end we’re all part of the family. I love you Ultimate Shag. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nomorerugowner
Location:Indiana
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:about 6 months
What a mess!!!
Date:March 9, 2014
" I started out thinking this rug was going to be great - read that it would take a couple of months for the fuzz to settle down - well have had it since September and it is now March and guess what - getting rid of it - can't stand the fuzzy mess any longer and the longer I have it and sweep it the nastier it has become. Looks like a fuzzy badly groomed dog and it is ruining my sweeper. I so wish I could get my money back on this product. Please don't sell anymore of these - people will be so disappointed and by the time you figure out how bad it is you can't do anything about it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
DanaN
Location:Florida
Age:Under 29
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Amazing rug!
Date:January 1, 2014
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I searched online for weeks to find the perfect color yellow rug for our nursery. I was so hesitant to order anything because I was so afraid the yellow would be too yellow or mustard looking. When i came across this rug in banana cream I thought it looked a little more on the cream side but ordered it anyways hoping for the best. When it arrived i was over the moon! It is the perfect soft, baby yellow for our nursery. Not a pastel yellow but not a bright yellow just perfect. Love this rug!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous12
SHAGGY
Date:December 21, 2013
" I bought this for my 10 year old daughter's room. It is nice and soft, a very deep shag. Small things get lost in it (try finding rainbow loom bands in this), so beware if ordering for a child. We've had it for about 6 weeks. After the first vacuuming or two it stopped shedding. The turquoise color is nice and as it looks on my monitor. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
markmarvista
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:30-39
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:about 6 months
I love this rug
Date:November 11, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Totally sumptuous. Like walking on a cloud. Vibrant color that looks super expensive. It is plush and beyond. I read that it sheds a lot but that has not happened to mine - there has been no shedding. I just ordered another one in red. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Jambo17
Location:Long Beach, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:more than a year
Ultimate "shed" rug
Date:October 23, 2013
" It's a great rug and the 9x12 cookies & cream has been the centerpiece of our family room for 3 years. It's holding up well with heavy use and 2 small children playing on it but it has not stopped shedding! Our 1 year old loves eating the fiber dust balls that collect on the dark brown couch also in the room. We love the look & feel of the rug (although the loft is starting to feel depleted after heavy use and the necessary vacuuming to reduce shedding) but most likely we will NOT buy another when it comes time to replace it (which will be soon). "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
CountryLiving716
Location:Western NY
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Very Nice Rug
Date:March 7, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I just recently purchased 3 of the cookies-n- cream colored shag rugs, although the colors isn't exactly what I was expecting I really love these rugs. I have 2 large dogs and 1 small dog and this rug doesn't show ANY hair, dust or dirt. The color has more of a cream and reddish tint, but it works well with my decor. No pad needed either. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Chalcuckles
Location:College Station, TX
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:about 6 months
Excellent rug -- looks good, holds up great
Date:November 17, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We've had this Ultimate Shag rug in Cookies & Cream in our living room about 6 months and LOVE IT. It feels great on the feet. Our rug has a 70+ lb medium-haired puppy on it with all her paraphernalia most days -- and it still looks great! I'd definitely buy it again. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Momoftoddler
Location:New Jersey
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Great Rug
Date:February 20, 2012
" Rug was extremely easy to take out of packaging and lay down. I don't have furniture on it but I still do not need padding because it doesnt slip. True to picture, Oatmeal was ivory with tan pieces throughout so two tone- not solid. Great quality for price, very soft and long shag which is what I wanted. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
katydid5780
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:30-39
Gender:female
Great for Nursery
Date:December 26, 2011
" I have the 8' in Ocean Blue. The color is almost exactly as shown. The rug is super-soft--perfect for my baby to play on, although we usually lay a blanket down so he doesn't try to eat the fibers! You definitely don't need a pad. They say it is machine washable which would be a plus if there was a washing machine large enough to hold it... We haven't noticed shedding shedding unless you're sitting on it wearing black. Haven't really tried to clean it yet but I'm thinking we'll have to shake it outside & then use the vacuum hose. It hides the dirt b/c it's so deep though :) "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chee
Location:KY
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Cookies and Cream
Date:June 3, 2011
" The color is different than what it appeared to be on my monitor. It looked white, beige, and dark brown or black. I got a dark ivory, tan, and medium brown.
It looks okay so won't be returning it but is not as nice as I was hoping. Just not enough contrast in the three colors and the brown is not a very pretty shade. Sort of "muddy river" instead of chocolate.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chalcuckles
College Station, TX
Warning about Cookies & Cream color
Posted May 22, 2012
I ordered this rug in Cookies & Cream over the weekend based on the photo online. Got a catalog today -- the color and texture of this Cookies & Cream rug in the catalog looks COMPLETELY different than the photo on the website. In fact, I doubt it's even the same rug. Alas, it's too late to stop the shipment. Here's hoping the rug I get is the rug pictured on the website, otherwise it's going right back.
Cheryl, the customer service rep I just spoke with, was great!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tydntru
Worst purchase ever
Date:April 11, 2011
" I purchased a 4X6 purple shag rug and it's been the worse experience! The rug sheds SO bad. I kept thinking that it would stop after a few weeks, but it has been about 6 months and it just doesn't stop. As soon as I clean it up, you can't tell I did anything. The purple fibers from the rug are everywhere. We are going to find something else to put in it's place. I am very sad as it looked great and the color was perfect, but so so so disappointed. Think before ordering the ultimate shag rug!!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NFMB
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 70
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
I love these rugs
Date:March 10, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I love these rugs. I bought 3 of them and love each one. They are so thick and plush and feel good to walk on barefooted. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Chrisssssy
Location:North Palm Beach, FL
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Walking on clouds
Date:March 7, 2011
" I purchased Seafoam Confetti in a 6x9. the rug arrived in great condition, nicely packaged. The quality is excellent. I wish there was a little more blue in the rug but not a dealbreaker. This is a lush, fabulous rug but NOT for kids, messy people or shedding pets. It requires a little special maintenance (use the wand of the vacuum, no brushes or rollers and then use a child's rake to fluff it up). It's pretty fab in my mid-century modern flat. This is my third rug purchase from HD and I have to say the quality is really good. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kars
Location:Lafayette, La.
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Don't waste your money
Date:February 16, 2011
" I purchased a 9x12 black shag rug and it's been the worse experience! The rug sheds SO bad your house will never be the same again! It has ruined a vacuum cleaner, fibers from the rug is everywhere, anything you touch after you walk on it shocks you! Please think again before ordering the ultimate shag rug!!! I have replaced the rug after 1 month! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynnn
Location:Miller, In
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
"Great Rug"
Date:January 4, 2011
" I just received my Ultimate Shag Rug and I am very pleased with the rug and color. It is truely a very beautiful light sky blue rug. It is plush and very soft to walk on. I was a little skeptical to order at first, without being able to feel the actual rug but I am so glad I did. The rug is better then expected. I am now going to order a second rug. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klray
Location:Daytona Beach, FL
Age:60-69
Gender:female
Nice rug but. . .
Date:December 29, 2010
" I really liked the rug--feel, looks, color. But, I sent it back because I wanted a large one (8x10) and it was very difficult to vaccum. I tried with my Oreck and couldn't do it. Shag is over 2" long. It would be very nice as a small throw rug. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zippy24
Location:Louisiana
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Best Purchase Ever
Date:November 30, 2010
" WOW!!!!!!!!! Talk about SOFT!!!!!!!!!!!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patti7684
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Should say multi-colored
Date:November 30, 2010
" I bought this rug thinking it was one solid color as per your picture in the catalog. I even printed the picture and enlarged it to hold against my furniture to make sure the color was right, thinking it was one solid color. Imagine my surprise when I found out that there were 2 colors, cream and beige. If it was so expensive to send it back, I would have. Quality is great, but the color description is very poor and misleading. "
Response from Home Decorators Collection:By Home Decorators CollectionDecember 13, 2010
Color description information is contained in the online Product Details. Thank you!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ULTIMATE SHAG RUG
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MelSch
Had to return
Date:November 21, 2010
" We loved the way this rug looked but had to return it due to the shedding. It covered our floors with brown dust bunnies. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>