Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK

Organize Your Home Office with This Secretary Desk The versatile Oxford Tall Secretary Desk is part of our handsome Oxford Collection. All the storage space you need can be found in the cupboards and file drawers. The solid wood frame and hardwood veneer ensure this desk will remain a part of your home office for years to come. 1 shelf. 8 letter cubbies. 2 file drawers hold letter and legal-size documents. Lower storage cubby with door.
Average Customer Rating:
4.025 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (120 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
49
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
7
97 of 120(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Review 1 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Boscothebosconian
Poor quality
Date:November 17, 2014
"I should have realized with the price I was paying that the quality would be lacking, but this piece was unacceptably cheap. The finished product wobbled at the slightest touch. A real bummer, and I'm on the hook for shipping costs. Stay away from the item!"
Review 2 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Newhall
Disappointed
Date:November 15, 2014
"The desk arrived late with no email or phone call notice. Delivery company did not attempt to ring the doorbell, they simply left the very damaged boxes in my driveway.
The desk was difficult to assemble and many of the fittings did not join properly. Many of the pieces are still loose and poorly fitted.
The file drawers do not align to the frame as shown. I've been happy with my HD purchases in the past, but not this time."
Review 3 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ccolon
Date:November 10, 2014
"The drawers do not line up properly- they aren't flush, so it looks awful. We had to measure it out and drill our own holes to make the drawers close properly/flush."
Review 4 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
hemlockend
Location:new england
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
poor milling/engineering
Date:October 22, 2014
"i waited 30+ days for this desk in black on back order. it was fairly easy to assemble with a little help, about 2 hours. but at the end of the assembly it was revealed that both drawers were predrilled approximately 1 inch too low. as a result they don't close all the way and have a gap at the top of the drawer. i had a friend who is a professional cabinet maker look at it to be sure i hadn't screwed up the assembly. he confirmed the pre-drill was off. BIG disappointment. we will have to re-drill the holes ourselves. it would be gorgeous if it worked."
Review 5 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Jerk
Location:Hershey, PA
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice unit
Date:August 26, 2014
"Overall we are happy with this purchase. It did take some time to assemble. I am handy, but I was taking my time hoping it would pay off with a nicer looking cabinet when I was done. Also, I had to rework with slides for the drawers. The predrilled holes were off, so it took some tweaking to get a nice fit."
Review 6 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
buttons1
Location:Southern Illinois
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
secretary
Date:August 13, 2014
"The secretary desk I ordered is above what I thought it would be. It definitely sturdy and the wood is beautiful. It was a slight challenge to put together but it was definitely worth it.
I received it within three days of ordering which was great. The price was great too. Will be ordering from this company again...
"
Review 7 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
bem1
WORST purchase ever.
Date:August 12, 2014
"Hired experienced person to assemble. It would NOT stay together at all.
Put it out for the garbage collector. The parts did not fit each other! Thoroughly DISGUSTED.
"
Review 8 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
jiCinti
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Poorly drilled
Date:August 2, 2014
"I like this product ok but it was very difficult to put together. The drawer holes for the slides were drilled in the wrong places and the chain holes for the fold out desk were also drilled incorrectly. My husband fixed them, but someone without his skills would have struggled and maybe even returned the item."
Review 9 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
makaua
Location:Portland OR
Age:Over 70
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Money and Time Well Spent
Date:July 4, 2014
"It took 3 people about 3.5 hours to assemble this desk. It wasn't difficult, we put all the parts and pieces in alpha order first and went from there. The finished product exceeded our expectations. Would not recommend fewer than 2 strong folks doing it though as it is heavy."
Review 10 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
CLAUDINEGG3
Location:STUART, FL
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
LOOKS NICE & NEAT
Date:May 28, 2014
"I LIKE HOW EVERYTHING CLOSES UP & IS PUT AWAY. SOLID WOOD CONSTRUCTION IS BEAUTIFUL!"
Review 11 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Boxstergirl
Location:Maple Grove MN
File Drawers don't work
Date:May 9, 2014
"I have bought several pieces of furniture, including 2 drawer files, from HDC. They have all been great, and I could easily assemble them. This one was more complicated, and my husband offered to assemble it for me. He is very talented, with lots of tools. We cannot get the two file drawers to open and close smoothly, The top one always has to be lifted so the lower one will slip in. We can never simply slide out a drawer, then take something out or put it in. Very disappointing."
Review 12 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
PleasedWithProduct
Location:Chicago
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Good purchase!
Date:April 28, 2014
"Definitely worth purchasing ; looks great; not so easy to assemble though"
Review 13 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
dancr
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Good budget investment
Date:April 24, 2014
"I read the reviews on this product so I knew the pros and cons related to it. I went ahead and made the purchase and I am very pleased with having made the investment. I found the directions relatively easy to follow. Due to the size and weight of the unit, it's recommended that 2 people assemble it. I was able to do it by myself. I'll add that I'm not a "DIY" kind of person. Once put together, I was able to place it into position using furniture sliders. Otherwise it would have been a bear to move around. I also bought a companion 2 drawer file cabinet. I would guesstimate that it took me about 2 hours to assemble the file cabinet and about 6-8 hours for the secretary. It looks great and is very functional for a small den/office."
Review 14 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Conste
Frustrating Experience
Date:April 11, 2014
"One part (k) was not notched on the right end, and we had to buy a saw and notch the other end. We put 2 of these together, and the second desk did not have this problem. Desk door hinges did not align properly--had to mount one hinge above recessed well.. Instructions were not specific enough. Depth of shanks is crucial to getting a solid assembly, and this is not sufficiently explained. Shank locks break easily and are difficult to remove if anything has to be disassembled. Could not get spacing completely even around drop-front opening."
Review 15 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
outwest
Location:Aurora Colorado
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Difficult but worth it
Date:March 1, 2014
"I put this together with my construction experienced brother-in-law, on a Saturday. It took about four hours with the two of us, and a power screw driver. Directions were fairly easy to understand (drawings) and we had all the parts and screws. Do not lose a screw or bolt, because there were not extras in the bags. It definitely takes two people minimum to put this furniture together, as it is large and heavy, especially as it comes together into one piece. It looks great in my smallish office space, and was bought because a lot of office furniture in stores is massive. This piece was carried upstairs in the two boxes it came in and put together in the room. Home Decorators is one of the best places I know of to order small room size furniture."
Review 16 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
kitty53
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:female
Value Purchase
Date:February 12, 2014
"Much better value than we could find locally. Looks like an antique piece--not box furniture. Very pleased with the piece."
Review 17 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
PCASNAKE
Location:Panama City, FL
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
The Best
Date:January 21, 2014
"I have assembled about everything from lawn furniture to this desk and this by far was the best experience. All parts were there and in perfect condition. The pre-drilled holes were in the exact location described by the instructions. The instructions were easy to understand. I will order from Home Decorators again.
Oh yes, this is a beautiful and functional piece of furniture.
"
Review 18 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
amosandy
Date:December 22, 2013
"very disappointing. I'm sorry I purchased it I went to the store but they did not have one on display. The other items by this manufacturer looked good but this desk looks cheap and was extremely difficult to assemble."
Review 19 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
mk261
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Very mixed
Date:October 27, 2013
"This desk is okay but not great. I expected it to have better construction for the price; the white finish scratches extremely easily and the pieces are made cheaply and warp easily, which means the desk doesn't assemble nicely. It's impossible to fit it together in such a way that all doors and drawers open without bumping a side.
Additionally, the secretary door that opens to form the work surface is only finished on the outside, meaning the surface you use to write and work is rough and uncomfortable. Clearly no one bothered to think that it's not just a door but also the primary workspace.
The other poorly thought out idea are the brackets used to attach the unit to the wall. Due to its shape, this piece of furniture is one that truly does need to be wall mounted so it doesn't topple. However, the provided brackets could only work if you have no baseboards and can get the unit fully flush to the wall, which I doubt is the case for very many people.
The finished item looks fine and functions pretty well, but for the price it really should be much better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Shep519
Awesome
Date:October 1, 2013
"Moved to a new house that didn't have an office. This was perfect size and storage for all of our stuff. Plenty of room for multiple laptops, printer, kids homework file folders, etc. The possibilities are endless. Easy to put together with the step by step instructions and very good quality. Highly recommend!"
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>