Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK

Organize Your Home Office with This Secretary Desk The versatile Oxford Tall Secretary Desk is part of our handsome Oxford Collection. All the storage space you need can be found in the cupboards and file drawers. The solid wood frame and hardwood veneer ensure this desk will remain a part of your home office for years to come. 1 shelf. 8 letter cubbies. 2 file drawers hold letter and legal-size documents. Lower storage cubby with door.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
49
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
7
103 of 128(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Review 1 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Cabinizer
Challenging assembly
Date:April 28, 2015
" Love the desk but it was very time consuming to put together! "
Review 2 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Pondlady
Happy with my purchase
Date:March 27, 2015
" Fits nicely in my small office where I have limited space. Arrived with a small chip in the wood which I touched up with black paint. Difficult and time consuming to assemble. I am still pleased with my purchase. True to the photo in the catalog. "
Review 3 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Sem1
Oxford Secretary Desk
Date:March 26, 2015
" Very poor quality. Ordered two pieces and both were of flimsy material and poor quality "
Review 4 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
LisaS2
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great deal!
Date:March 25, 2015
" Beatutiful desk and just the right size for the space i have. "
Review 5 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
1stgreatgamma
Location:San Jose, California
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Relatively happy with new desk
Date:January 15, 2015
" I needed to down size from a huge, 55 X 29 desk and the Oxford Tall Secretary Desk seemed to fit all our needs. I was concerned when it arrived as the package was torn and dented, but as we unwrapped everything all the pieces were intact. It took half an hour to unwrap everything and then break down all the packaging. Unfortunately, I did not closely inspect all the wood pieces. I could no longer do an exchange. After my husband started assembling the desk we noticed many of the wood pieces had nicks and scratches that had been "touched up". Some spot-repair was better than others. There is a total of 12 nicks on the front alone. Thankfully my husband is mechanically inclined so it took him approximately 1 1/2 to 2 hours to assemble the desk. He did not need the instruction booklet for most of the assembly, but he said when he did need to refer to said instructions they were well written and easy. Fair warning...many pieces are involved in the assembly ( i.e. Wood pieces, dowels, screws, hinges etc.). This project not recommended for the faint of heart. After the desk was assembled I was pretty happy with the desk with the exception of the noticeable nick repairs. "
Review 6 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Cathy84103
Pretty Finish
Date:December 19, 2014
" Product has a nice finish and is pretty when you finally put it together. BUT, again the hardware was very substantial, the cams were made out of a cheap alloy and kept breaking (so we had to buy our own). The pre-drilled holes on the sides of the drawers were wrong so, they didnt line up like they should. The dropdown door chains were a different length and the desktop was not notched our on the right side. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
NYCJT
Location:New York, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Looks great but.....
Date:November 26, 2014
" I chose this desk mainly for it's appearance and storage and it is excellent in those respects. However, it took more than 4 hrs to assemble with 2 of us and it's function could be better. The main fold down door does not feel strong enough. The chains are mostly aesthetic since they are fairly slack and don't seem to support the door. Also, my top file cabinet drawer is often ajar. Not sure why.... and it's true the hanging file cabinets are just a bit too short for tabs on the files (but since I don't fill the cabinet too full, it works).
I would still recommend this desk nevertheless.
"
Review 8 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
MakeItWorkMomma
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Perfect for small space
Date:November 24, 2014
" This was a fabulous purchase for my small studio. It was essential that I find something with clean lines that provided ample storage. To maximize the open feeling visually, I got the white finish although I was drawn to the black. It is a very heavy piece of furniture and arrived in two large boxes. The instructions advise having a minimum of 2 people for assembly but I was alone and managed just fine. (But I was rather sore the next day.) There are MANY screws so I recommend having a power screwdriver which I did NOT have. Make sure the backing is facing the correct direction and is on the right side before attaching it. The installation of the sliders for the file drawers was not clearly explained but, with a little thought, I figured it out. Start this project in the beginning of the day and NOT at 4:30 in the afternoon. After 6 hours of careful unpacking, sorting pieces and methodically piecing it together, I had a beautiful, sturdy desk, providing a lot of storage options with the 2 file drawers and a cabinet space below. The slotted spaces above are not an ideal dimension at 7 1/2" H x 3" wide. An 8" height would have made these slots more versatile. I am still pondering the best use for these slots. If you have a large printer you will need to place it elsewhere. My printer is not very big and therefore fits inside the desk area. When the desk is closed, I set my laptop on top of my printer. I also fit a light inside the desk. One could create more desk space by attaching an overhead light inside the desk space. Come to think of it, I just may do that myself! The manual warns against placing anything heavy on top of this desk as it might fall over. There are braces provided to anchor it to your wall although I have not done this yet. I am very happy with this purchase and thankful to finally have a space where my children can do their homework and I can also manage my personal and household files. Great value! "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Boscothebosconian
Poor quality
Date:November 17, 2014
" I should have realized with the price I was paying that the quality would be lacking, but this piece was unacceptably cheap. The finished product wobbled at the slightest touch. A real bummer, and I'm on the hook for shipping costs. Stay away from the item! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Newhall
Disappointed
Date:November 15, 2014
" The desk arrived late with no email or phone call notice. Delivery company did not attempt to ring the doorbell, they simply left the very damaged boxes in my driveway.
The desk was difficult to assemble and many of the fittings did not join properly. Many of the pieces are still loose and poorly fitted.
The file drawers do not align to the frame as shown. I've been happy with my HD purchases in the past, but not this time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ccolon
Date:November 10, 2014
" The drawers do not line up properly- they aren't flush, so it looks awful. We had to measure it out and drill our own holes to make the drawers close properly/flush. "
Review 12 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
hemlockend
Location:new england
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
poor milling/engineering
Date:October 22, 2014
" i waited 30+ days for this desk in black on back order. it was fairly easy to assemble with a little help, about 2 hours. but at the end of the assembly it was revealed that both drawers were predrilled approximately 1 inch too low. as a result they don't close all the way and have a gap at the top of the drawer. i had a friend who is a professional cabinet maker look at it to be sure i hadn't screwed up the assembly. he confirmed the pre-drill was off. BIG disappointment. we will have to re-drill the holes ourselves. it would be gorgeous if it worked. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RobinVA
Arlington
Thanks for thoughtful review
Posted January 10, 2015
Much appreciated. Having your cabinet maker friend confirm your assembly added weight to your review. I am considering this desk and matching 3-drawer file cabinet but am concerned about the quality of production.
Were you able to receive any support from Home Decorators?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Jerk
Location:Hershey, PA
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice unit
Date:August 26, 2014
" Overall we are happy with this purchase. It did take some time to assemble. I am handy, but I was taking my time hoping it would pay off with a nicer looking cabinet when I was done. Also, I had to rework with slides for the drawers. The predrilled holes were off, so it took some tweaking to get a nice fit. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
buttons1
Location:Southern Illinois
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
secretary
Date:August 13, 2014
" The secretary desk I ordered is above what I thought it would be. It definitely sturdy and the wood is beautiful. It was a slight challenge to put together but it was definitely worth it.
I received it within three days of ordering which was great. The price was great too. Will be ordering from this company again...
"
Review 15 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
bem1
WORST purchase ever.
Date:August 12, 2014
" Hired experienced person to assemble. It would NOT stay together at all.
Put it out for the garbage collector. The parts did not fit each other! Thoroughly DISGUSTED.
"
Review 16 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
jiCinti
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Poorly drilled
Date:August 2, 2014
" I like this product ok but it was very difficult to put together. The drawer holes for the slides were drilled in the wrong places and the chain holes for the fold out desk were also drilled incorrectly. My husband fixed them, but someone without his skills would have struggled and maybe even returned the item. "
Review 17 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
makaua
Location:Portland OR
Age:Over 70
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Money and Time Well Spent
Date:July 4, 2014
" It took 3 people about 3.5 hours to assemble this desk. It wasn't difficult, we put all the parts and pieces in alpha order first and went from there. The finished product exceeded our expectations. Would not recommend fewer than 2 strong folks doing it though as it is heavy. "
Review 18 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
CLAUDINEGG3
Location:STUART, FL
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
LOOKS NICE & NEAT
Date:May 28, 2014
" I LIKE HOW EVERYTHING CLOSES UP & IS PUT AWAY. SOLID WOOD CONSTRUCTION IS BEAUTIFUL! "
Review 19 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Boxstergirl
Location:Maple Grove MN
File Drawers don't work
Date:May 9, 2014
" I have bought several pieces of furniture, including 2 drawer files, from HDC. They have all been great, and I could easily assemble them. This one was more complicated, and my husband offered to assemble it for me. He is very talented, with lots of tools. We cannot get the two file drawers to open and close smoothly, The top one always has to be lifted so the lower one will slip in. We can never simply slide out a drawer, then take something out or put it in. Very disappointing. "
Review 20 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
PleasedWithProduct
Location:Chicago
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Good purchase!
Date:April 28, 2014
" Definitely worth purchasing ; looks great; not so easy to assemble though "
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>