Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK

Organize Your Home Office with This Secretary Desk The versatile Oxford Tall Secretary Desk is part of our handsome Oxford Collection. All the storage space you need can be found in the cupboards and file drawers. The solid wood frame and hardwood veneer ensure this desk will remain a part of your home office for years to come. 1 shelf. 8 letter cubbies. 2 file drawers hold letter and legal-size documents. Lower storage cubby with door.
Average Customer Rating:
4.14 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
47
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
91 of 107(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Review 1 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Conste
Frustrating Experience
Date:April 11, 2014
"One part (k) was not notched on the right end, and we had to buy a saw and notch the other end. We put 2 of these together, and the second desk did not have this problem. Desk door hinges did not align properly--had to mount one hinge above recessed well.. Instructions were not specific enough. Depth of shanks is crucial to getting a solid assembly, and this is not sufficiently explained. Shank locks break easily and are difficult to remove if anything has to be disassembled. Could not get spacing completely even around drop-front opening."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
outwest
Location:Aurora Colorado
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Difficult but worth it
Date:March 1, 2014
"I put this together with my construction experienced brother-in-law, on a Saturday. It took about four hours with the two of us, and a power screw driver. Directions were fairly easy to understand (drawings) and we had all the parts and screws. Do not lose a screw or bolt, because there were not extras in the bags. It definitely takes two people minimum to put this furniture together, as it is large and heavy, especially as it comes together into one piece. It looks great in my smallish office space, and was bought because a lot of office furniture in stores is massive. This piece was carried upstairs in the two boxes it came in and put together in the room. Home Decorators is one of the best places I know of to order small room size furniture."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
kitty53
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:female
Value Purchase
Date:February 12, 2014
"Much better value than we could find locally. Looks like an antique piece--not box furniture. Very pleased with the piece."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
PCASNAKE
Location:Panama City, FL
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
The Best
Date:January 21, 2014
"I have assembled about everything from lawn furniture to this desk and this by far was the best experience. All parts were there and in perfect condition. The pre-drilled holes were in the exact location described by the instructions. The instructions were easy to understand. I will order from Home Decorators again.
Oh yes, this is a beautiful and functional piece of furniture.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
amosandy
Date:December 22, 2013
"very disappointing. I'm sorry I purchased it I went to the store but they did not have one on display. The other items by this manufacturer looked good but this desk looks cheap and was extremely difficult to assemble."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
mk261
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Very mixed
Date:October 27, 2013
"This desk is okay but not great. I expected it to have better construction for the price; the white finish scratches extremely easily and the pieces are made cheaply and warp easily, which means the desk doesn't assemble nicely. It's impossible to fit it together in such a way that all doors and drawers open without bumping a side.
Additionally, the secretary door that opens to form the work surface is only finished on the outside, meaning the surface you use to write and work is rough and uncomfortable. Clearly no one bothered to think that it's not just a door but also the primary workspace.
The other poorly thought out idea are the brackets used to attach the unit to the wall. Due to its shape, this piece of furniture is one that truly does need to be wall mounted so it doesn't topple. However, the provided brackets could only work if you have no baseboards and can get the unit fully flush to the wall, which I doubt is the case for very many people.
The finished item looks fine and functions pretty well, but for the price it really should be much better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Shep519
Awesome
Date:October 1, 2013
"Moved to a new house that didn't have an office. This was perfect size and storage for all of our stuff. Plenty of room for multiple laptops, printer, kids homework file folders, etc. The possibilities are endless. Easy to put together with the step by step instructions and very good quality. Highly recommend!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Jameson
Expected Better
Date:September 17, 2013
"This secretary desk looks nice, but I expected better. The chains that hold the fold out door are completely different. One is tight, while the other one is loose. The bolts that hold the desk together didn't come with stickers to disguise them, so they are visible against the dark wood color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
EmilyV
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Lovely desk for a small space
Date:September 11, 2013
"The desk is made of excellent materials, but is a pain to put together. Not exactly complicated, but time consuming, as there are LOTS of parts.
Once put together though, the desk is incredibly handsome. I got mine in white and it looks great. The drop down lid is attached by hinges at the bottom, as well as the chains that hold it from the top. Very secure.
The only complaint that I have is that in the back of the actual desk part there are no holes for extending cords down to plug in. We were able to cut holes ourselves, but would have been nicer if they were already there."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Karonic
Does the job, but get what you pay for
Date:August 27, 2013
"Some of the products from HDC look like far higher quality than they are. This is not one of them. It looks fine. The main door in the front is a bit warped, which is what really bugs me. Other than that, the quality is perfectly okay, especially for the price. I am fussy about my office, and I am totally okay with it. It did take my boyfriend more than 3 hours to assemble because the directions required flipping the unit around halfway through without saying so."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
mmrohleder
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Perfect fit for small spaces
Date:August 16, 2013
"Compact but still allows for a lot of storage."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Corneroffice
Location:Chicago, IL
I have owned this product for:a week
Just what we hoped for
Date:July 26, 2013
"We have lots of experience with assembling furniture. So even though we knew this would be a pretty complicated piece, we went ahead and ordered the tall secretary desk. We were very pleased with the product. Everything fit well together and instructions were clear. Materials were sturdy and finishing touches nicely done. It seems made to last. Good to have an electric screwdriver though."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
VancouverLibrarian
Classy & Practicle
Date:June 15, 2013
"I wanted to have a tiny home office in my living room and thought a secretary's desk would be the best solution. I am incredibly happy with this product: it looks nice (I have it in black), has worn well, and is sturdy. The only complaint was that the packaging is HEAVY; this speaks well to the overall quality, but makes it a pain for moving it to where you want to put it together."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
brmr
Great item, Somewhat difficult assembly
Date:June 7, 2013
"Common sense needs to prevail when assembling. Instructions are a good guide but if you are not looking ahead you will have to loosen some of the assembly to accomplish the next step. Otherwise great item, sturdy and visually pleasing."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
SandpointJack
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Left me wanting
Date:June 5, 2013
"I am a mechanical engineer and it took me hours to assemble.
Blemish in stain on front of desk/door. There is mar in the stain across the whole door when desk is closed."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
parkerfam
Location:CA
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a day
Very Happy!!
Date:May 7, 2013
"It came very quick and intact with very sturdy wood. I had read most of the reviews and they said the same things. It took me and my husband 3 hours with only 1 complication which was the sliders for the drawers!! Just had to line the holes up on the right sides:) My husband always says its a true test of marriage putting stuff together like this!! We survived and I know you can too! Just take your time and it will come out great!! The only worry would be the screws are very small and the product is very heavy. But it will take time to see if there will be a problem with that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
aact
Oxford Tall Secretary Desk
Date:April 11, 2013
"I am very pleased with this purchase. It was shipped fast. The desk was slightly difficult to assemble, but not more so that any other piece of furniture of this nature. It is incredibly functional and just what I was looking for."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
Dazzled
Location:Florida
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great product for a small office space
Date:April 6, 2013
"It took my husband a couple of days to assemble, and was very frustrating for him...needed to saw an edge for a match up of a panel, as well as redrill a few holes. However, once assembled, it looks great and is very practical for what we wanted it for."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
mindo80
Great desk, but check the size of your monitor!
Date:March 6, 2013
"I love the desk, it has everything we were looking for- file drawers, mail slots, and a door to close so the baby cannot get to the computer. However we have a large IMac monitor and while I measured the width before ordering and knew that would be fine the height was a different story. Luckily my husband is handy and was able to adjust the mail slots up higher by drilling new holes. So it was a little extra work. Just thankful we were able to use it once it was put together!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for OXFORD TALL SECRETARY DESK
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
LisaRNEMTFF
Location:Mercer County, NJ
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:about 6 months
Solid Piece of Furniture
Date:February 25, 2013
"This unit was not the easiest to assemble but that was mostly due to the weight.As it was assembled i noted a few spider cracks in the partical board but it wasnt anything that would impact structure or appearance. Do yourself a favor and keep your area organized. make sure your shelves are right side up and your using the correct screws. Keep a blanket or something you can use to slide the desk to the room/ area you need. Its very bulky and cumbersome to move once assembled, even with 2 people. You will also need a second person when attaching the back panel because this levels out your gaps around drawers (one person to tack and one to eyeball openings)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>