Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

OXFORD FILE STORAGE

Provide Storage and Style with This File Cabinet Get extra storage for your files with the Oxford File Cabinet. Plenty of surface area on top plus the display shelf below will give you room for photos, pottery and other items. You'll love the simple, yet graceful details of our home office furniture. Add this file cabinet to your order today.Pewter-finished hardware adds an elegant touch.A smooth finish completes the look.File drawers easily adjust to fit letter- and legal- sized papers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.123 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (170 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
64
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
7
145 of 170(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Review 1 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Susan845
Location:New Haven, CT
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Very nice product
Date:April 15, 2014
"I am very pleased with this file cabinet console. The boxes it was delivered in were pretty heavy, so I was nervous about putting it together. I was able to assemble it by myself until the last couple steps when I needed some help because of the size and bulk. The instructions were great. I had one hole that got stripped by the screw, but it was a finishing piece and didn't make much of a difference. This is a very nice looking piece of furniture and extremely functional. I'm really pleased with this purchase. Great value too!"
Review 2 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
chazrarc
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:30-39
Gender:female
great buy
Date:April 11, 2014
"I bought this for my office for more storage & organization. I timed myself putting it together. Took 15-20 min to unpack boxes. 15-20 min to put the main unit together & 30-40 min to put the drawers together. I usually get almost done then realize I messed up a beginning step & have to take it apart but I put this together with no issues. I also did it by myself & then moved it into an adjoining room up 1 step. I am 5'2" & not in shape so if I can do it anyone can. I was so happy to organize my work & personal files. I would definitely reccommend for the price."
Review 3 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Cheng
Location:San Diego,CA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Good buy
Date:April 11, 2014
"I bought this Oxford file storage because of it's lateral design and white color.it has gotten to the point of my life where it is hard to get up when you sit on th.e ground and you bend.It requires 2 people to assemble this, one to put the screws and one to hold it.The 2 lower sides wont lock , it keep showing a slight gap. The file drawers does not glide smoothly, I wish it is a soft closing drawer.It will be a big improvement for it's functionality. I would buy this again especially when they improve it."
Review 4 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
manderhoney
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 70
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
9 drawer oxford file storage
Date:March 4, 2014
"the instructions were difficult to follow. the chinese translations were sort of backward..upward pointing arrows meant down..so when a panel had to be switched after already screwed down it split. things like that."
Review 5 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
writer12
Great deal, space saver
Date:February 11, 2014
"I looked everywhere for something that could serve as a TV console table and file cabinet. This was the only option I found and it was a great price. Turns out it also looks great and the file drawers are deep and hold a lot. It is saving space for me! Assembly was moderate to difficult. It was not always clear which way to line up a few pieces and if you make a mistake you take it apart and start again. It does take two people to put this together.
Very satisfied
"
Review 6 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
CindyWA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Pre-assembled drawer slides do not line up
Date:February 8, 2014
"The overall assembly was easy, just like the Oxford two drawer file cabinet I previously assembled but this kit came with the panel side door slides pre-attached to the drawer side panels. On previous kits, the slides came as an assembly and after separating them, you attached them yourself to the side panels and drawers. Installing the drawers reunited the slide assemblies. The pre-attached door slides on this kit did not line up properly at the initial drawer install and the ball bearing bracket on the panel side came loose and spilled the ball bearings on two of the three drawers. Worse yet, instead of allowing me to order the assemblies like they came with my two drawer file cabinet, they want me to order the entire panel with the attached drawer slide."
Review 7 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ShaneT
Location:Houston, TX
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Best TV stand/filing cabinet ever
Date:January 29, 2014
"I was really impressed with the quality of the cabinet. Was a great addition to my office and works great as a TV stand as well. Though take your time putting the actual filing cabinet together, it's easy to put things in upside down. : )"
Review 8 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
RockChalkJayhawk
My husband loves it!
Date:January 29, 2014
"I purchased the Oxford File Cabinet as a surprise for my husband's office. He couldn't be happier with the new piece! He desperately needed a way to organize all of his job files and this console is just the way to do that! The file cabinet is nice and heavy and is the perfect size--deep enough to hold a lot of files and wide enough to be a statement piece in his office. (I added a contemporary brushed nickel lamp on top of the cabinet and a framed print above.) I had the item shipped directly to his office. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition."
Review 9 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Iffy4
Location:NYC
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Very Good Looking
Date:January 24, 2014
"This is for the 3 drawer file system that looks like a buffet. I carefully read many of the reviews and saw that a lot of people said it was difficult to put together and the directions were not clear. Also, there were some tips but fortunately I didn't need to deviate from the directions provided. I took my time, 3 days, and made the decision to do it alone. That's because sometimes when someone else helps, they want to forge ahead and not have a full grasp of the directions. Which, yes, were complicated. But go slowly, study the pictures especially and don't get frustrated. In the end you will have a beautiful console."
Review 10 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
seprice
Ok, probably won't recommend
Date:January 17, 2014
"Overall, the visual appearance of the cabinet is very nice. And, technically for the cost it's an ok buy. It's not sturdy, the drawers are almost non-functional in terms of both size (i.e., storage space) and they are extremely difficult to open and close. Plus, the finish is very soft so during assembly it scratched a bit, which is frustrating!"
Review 11 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
dullo16065
Location:Colorado
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:about 6 months
Excellent File Storage
Date:January 2, 2014
"This unit provides the perfect amount of file storage for our home office and does it without looking like it is taking over the room. I love the design as well! Makes my office look classy."
Review 12 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
hutcheratl
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice in the end, annoying to assemble!
Date:December 11, 2013
"This is a very pretty piece once assembled, but you may want to bang your head against the wall about halfway through the assembly! I assembled this alone and it took about 3 hours, so it would probably be much faster with 2 people. The directions are relatively straight forward, though you have to make some assumptions and you won't learn they're wrong until the end (learned that lesson the hard way!). I ordered a desk at the same time and unlike that piece which came semi-pre assembled, this unit was reminiscent of college days with lots of wood pieces and what seems like 1,000 screws and bolts!
If you are close to a Home Decorator's store, I would recommend you take advantage of the $35 assembly fee they charge to put it together for you. I wish I had done that!!
The piece itself is nice and will hold a great deal of files. Baskets fit nicely on the bottom shelf, so you can really store a lot of stuff. I ordered this along with the "empire desk" and it makes a good pair and the colors work together well."
Review 13 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
crystalclear25698
awesome
Date:November 20, 2013
"i love this collection i have the entire set for my home office...."
Review 14 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Very Difficult
Easy
LizzB
Location:Boston, MA
Age:50-59
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:November 13, 2013
"I should have listened to the advice in previous reviews. Were the two boxes the file storage came in not so large and heavy and if I hadn't dedicated so much time to putting it together I would have returned it! Definitely not worth the money!!! Overpriced, poor quality and very difficult to assemble. Screw holes did not line up on the rails, instruction diagram hard to follow and side pieces did not fit into holes on bottom panel. Save your money and your sanity! Don't be tempted to purchase this. Ikea furniture is easier to assemble."
Review 15 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Harp35
Location:Columbus, OH
Very Happy
Date:November 8, 2013
"Looks great! It looks like a more expensive piece of furniture that we had delivered. There were a couple of scratches and nicks on the drawers in visible areas, but guests likely will not notice. Overall, it is a nice quality product. Assembly took a couple of hours with two people."
Review 16 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
kdean
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Item
Date:October 28, 2013
""Took a little time to put together, but it's a great storage piece for the office area, and a wonderful price!! Very happy with my purchase!""
Review 17 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
junecrew
Location:san frrancisco
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
well crafted piece
Date:October 24, 2013
"I had been looking for extra storage for the office for some while and this unit really fit my needs. I was really impressed by the ease with which it went together and it took very little time. I would give 5 stars on workmanship but for the fact that some paint was missing on 3 of the black drawers (a black furniture repair pen will be an easy fix) and a damaged top corner that had already been (quickly) painted over by the company-it was in the back, so we didn't complain. The price, I thought, was a little hefty but with free shipping and 20% off coupon I managed to bring it down to a more comfortable level"
Review 18 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
NorthwestJean
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Looks great
Date:October 13, 2013
"Had a problem with one of the slides for a drawer. Resolution was a new slide sent a week later. No charges incurred, this was as good a resolution as any, had it been a store purchase there would have been no difference in solution to problem. The file is very versatile as any one drawer can be used as a legal size as well as standard. The height is perfect, fits well with all other accessories."
Review 19 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
TLC3
Location:Mentor, OH
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
First Purchase from Home Decorators
Date:September 24, 2013
"I have to admit going into this purchase my expectations weren't very high. Any furniture arriving needing assembly raises red flags. But compared to other "assembly required" furniture this one isn't so bad. Assembly was relatively simple. Each piece and bag of parts was labeled and directions were easy to follow. The wood pieces were in good condition and once assembled is asthetically pleasing. My only disapointment is with the mechanics of the drawers, they don't open and close with the ease I'd hoped for. Still overall a decent product and I'd purchase from HD again."
Review 20 for OXFORD FILE STORAGE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
weazzy
Three drawer file storage
Date:September 24, 2013
"Nice quality with moderate complex assembly. Bottom shelf didn't completely line up but may have been our fault assembling it."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>