Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET

Organize Your Important Papers with a Stylish File Cabinet Bring home ample storage for your office papers with the Oxford Lateral File Cabinet. You'll love how this home office furniture is sturdily constructed to endure years of use. Add appealing style while organizing your workspace; order today.Sturdy wood frame provides sound structural integrity.Hardwood veneer adds incredible durability.Pewter-finished hardware creates fresh style.File drawers easily adjust to hold letter- and legal-size papers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
48
3 stars
20
2 stars
3
1 star
12
86 of 115(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Review 21 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Mamachick512
Location:Sayville, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Easy Assembly/Nice cabinets
Date:October 23, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The cabinets look really nice and the assembly was easy. The only negatives are that the files sit left to right instead of front to back. This makes the cabinet front heavy. Since mine are sitting in front of my radiator, I cannot anchor them to my wall. So instead I folded small pieces of cardboard and put them under the front feet to lean it back more. Otherwise the drawers were sliding forward. The cardboard is working and if you make it the same size as the feet, you can't see it.
One other comment about assembly.....when it's time to screw the drawers into the drawer slides, the instructions are not clear. It's the front hole on the slides....save yourselves the time looking for the hole with threads. They are hard to see but eventually we found it :)
Overall nice cabinets and I will get used to the side to side filing system, that is not a big deal. "
Review 22 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
matsuiorchids
Missing parts
Date:October 11, 2013
" This looks really great, but it came missing 3 of the dividers for the hanging files, so that was very disappointing since that's what the main purpose of it is! "
Review 23 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Charlotte2013
Really Nice Cabinet
Date:August 13, 2013
" We bought this and the single file to "match" some desks we purchased at Pottery Barn. They look fabulous! The color match was great and even the style looks like it goes together. We couldn't justify the cost of the matching PB cabinets and were equally as pleased with the way these looked for much less. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Momtotwoawesomeboys
Husband complained entire time
Date:August 9, 2013
" We had purchased this after purchasing several items from Ikea. My husband did not complain once about the Ikea furniture, but was constantly complaining about the instructions and workmanship. Nevertheless, we got it put together and it looks very nice in our office. Doesn't feel like the sturdiest furniture, so we are a bit worried that it will not last long. "
Review 25 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
Mino
Not worth price
Date:May 31, 2013
" This cabinet looks good when put together, but it doesn't go together easy. It says it takes two people to put together. It was better with three. The top drawer does not close without lifting it slightly so it can slide in. We have tried everything. We even took the drawer apart and put back together. For this price, and having to put it together (took 2 hours), it should be priced cheaper. "
Review 26 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
adubs
I have owned this product for:a week
Decent for the money
Date:March 13, 2013
" This cabinet looks great and works well. It was not overly difficult to put together and I believe it will last. That being said, I think that its not 100% stable if you pull the drawers out. Overall, I would recommend this cabinet. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Liberty2
Date:February 14, 2013
" Looks pretty and I'm more or less pleased with the wood involved. I feel like I got what I paid for.
The slides used for the drawers are cheap cheap cheap and hold the drawer in by means of one tiny screw. I'm terrified that I might overload them (which is possible for a file cabinet) and the cheap metal will just shatter. Also unimpressed with their fit.
I wish there was some way to glue the joints, but the laminate prevents it, so sides are held by cheap pot-metal cams (one of which broke on me) I had to call for replacements for drawer dividers, 2 of which were milled incorrectly in different ways. I don't expect that if I ever move this unit will survive the experience.
But like I said at the top, for an affordable unit, I got what I paid for. And it looks attractive. "
Review 28 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
hdsquared
Location:Edgewater, MD
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Solid, well packed, but lots to assemble.
Date:February 14, 2013
" This is a good price for a good quality product. I was very impressed with the packing as every item was well protected. That said, every item needed to be assembled. Although the instructions are easy enough, you actually do need to read them and follow them closely as there are many similar pieces and if you get one turned around, you will have to take everything apart. One minor note is that when I was installing a knob, the screw broke in half. "
Review 29 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
kdhermes
Nice Cabinet
Date:February 11, 2013
" Overall nice cabinet for what we paid for it. Drawers seem a little off balance and uneven but it works. "
Review 30 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ellerye
Location:Ohio
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice finished product - issue with parts
Date:February 2, 2013
" I ordered 2 oxford lateral 3 drawer filing cabinets. The first one was assembled without much difficulty. All parts and hardware were labeled, which aided in putting it together. The most difficult part is screwing the drawers in to the sliding apparatus. The second one had faulty workmanship. Part B of the frame had 1 hole that was drilled too big for the cam-bolt. Part F (drawer front) was significantly gouged and there wasn't a hole for one of the cabinet pulls. I am pleased with the final product of the 1st one but definitely disappointed with the 2nd. Customer Service representatives were pleasant and arranged for replacement parts. However, it will take 3 to 7 business days for the parts to arrive. "
Review 31 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
SNAUSA
Location:Manhattan Beach, CA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Date:October 5, 2012
" This file looks great and matches the Ikea furniture we bought but does not appear to be very well made. It is assembled but I have not yet filled it with files. I'm not confident that it will be able to hold two drawers full of files without causing problems with the drawer function, etc. On looks alone, I love it. It just appears to be cheaply made. In a few years I may end up having to buy the more expensive Pottery Barn version anyway. "
Review 32 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
tvanvalke
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice looking and easy to assemble
Date:October 2, 2012
" This piece is nice looking and easy to assemble. EXCEPT for putting the drawers on the sliding mechanisms. One of the screws didn't fit, and I called to get another part. they sent another part, but the problem isn't really fixed. BUT other than that it is sturdy and I love it...I won't be putting a ton of files in this but that's ok...i'm also using it for a 'tv' stand! "
Review 33 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
MintHillGramma
Date:September 7, 2012
" This cabinet was easy to put together and it looks beautiful. I know I will get great use out of it and am pleased that I bought something both attractive and functional. The contents can shift when the drawers are opened and closed, and that can cause the closed drawers to drift open slightly. It's not a huge issue because it is easily remedied by just closing the drawers carefully, but it would be better if the drawers had a lock or if they were able to "snap" shut. Overall though I am very pleased. "
Review 34 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
workshard
Not meant for heavy duty use
Date:September 5, 2012
" If you want a good looking file cabinet, purchase this one but if you plan to fill this file cabinet with files and use it daily, don't purchase it. Once filled with files, the drawers do not close properly, the flimsy metal bars that hold the files continually fall out of the slots causing the files to fall to bottom of drawer. I've had it for 3 months and I'm putting it out on the curb for garbage. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
CalTxgirl
Age:Under 29
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
You get what you pay for...
Date:July 9, 2012
" When purchasing this product, keep in mind it is not high quality furiture. I would compare the quality of this furniture to something you would find at target. It was a lengthy process to put it together, but luckily my husband is a handy guy. All that being said, I like the look of the finished product and after I put new, high quality hardware on it, it looks like a much more expensive piece of furniture. This is not a piece I plan on having for a seriously long time-- frankly, due to the quality, I don't think it would last a long time. But for the moment, it was what I needed for the right price and I'm happy I got it. "
Review 36 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Reverend
Location:Washington DC
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice looking, sturdy
Date:May 18, 2012
" This is a handsome piece of furniture and we liked it so much that we ordered the Oxford workstation and the Oxford secretary for office use. So far, it works and all the drawers pull out smoothly. Putting together the piece was of moderate difficulty. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
CupOJoe
Composite construction, flimsy hardware, nice look
Date:April 30, 2012
" Caution: Do NOT place a full load of papers in the drawers. The Roller bearings, which operate nicely when empty or partially filled, will bend and fail at full load. Unfortunately I now have to purchase new parts, hopefully better ones, or a new cabinet because I tried to actually put papers in it (I'd say 80percent full).
The construction is a composite, similar to high density fiberboard. If wondering what this is, I'd think of it as 1/2 inch thick ridgid cardboard. It's sturdy, but just don't get it wet. (when I purchased the unit, it was advertised as "solid wood"). I realise now, that it is not.
The unit did assemble fairly easily, if taking some time. The unit also looks nice, and opens and closes empty. However, do NOT load it more than half capacity, or you will be sorry.
Warranty service is apparently for only 90 days, expect to replace it within 2 years. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
twochrisz
Great Purchase
Date:April 20, 2012
" Heavy box delivered (96 lbs.) but was expecting that. A couple of nicks here and there but also sort of expected that based on previous reviews. Not worth sending back and starting over. Just used a black Sharpie to cover up the blemishes. Overall, great value for the price. "
Review 39 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Woodsmanjeff
Fantastic product for the money
Date:April 12, 2012
" Very nice, sturdy piece of office furniture. Assembly took roughly 2 hours, but that is not too bad given the size and materials (bought the 3-drawer version.) Would have liked an option to hang files in either front-to-back, or side-to-side orientation. But for the price paid, that is a minor issue. We would definitely consider other pieces of furniture from this company. "
Review 40 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
megcass
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice Purchase for an Office
Date:March 26, 2012
" You can assemble this file cabinet with one person until you have to put on the back. It is very unsteady without the back. Definitely recommend that two person are available when putting on the back. Also, I had to use bolt and nut to keep the file drawers on track. What you provided did not hold the track in place. There were also two piece that were not drilled correctly. One piece did not have the drill holes made and another had them center incorrectly. However, it looks very nice. "
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>