Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET

Organize Your Important Papers with a Stylish File Cabinet Bring home ample storage for your office papers with the Oxford Lateral File Cabinet. You'll love how this home office furniture is sturdily constructed to endure years of use. Add appealing style while organizing your workspace; order today.Sturdy wood frame provides sound structural integrity.Hardwood veneer adds incredible durability.Pewter-finished hardware creates fresh style.File drawers easily adjust to hold letter- and legal-size papers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.878 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
47
3 stars
18
2 stars
3
1 star
7
84 of 107(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Review 21 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
hdsquared
Location:Edgewater, MD
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Solid, well packed, but lots to assemble.
Date:February 14, 2013
"This is a good price for a good quality product. I was very impressed with the packing as every item was well protected. That said, every item needed to be assembled. Although the instructions are easy enough, you actually do need to read them and follow them closely as there are many similar pieces and if you get one turned around, you will have to take everything apart. One minor note is that when I was installing a knob, the screw broke in half."
Review 22 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
kdhermes
Nice Cabinet
Date:February 11, 2013
"Overall nice cabinet for what we paid for it. Drawers seem a little off balance and uneven but it works."
Review 23 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
ellerye
Location:Ohio
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice finished product - issue with parts
Date:February 2, 2013
"I ordered 2 oxford lateral 3 drawer filing cabinets. The first one was assembled without much difficulty. All parts and hardware were labeled, which aided in putting it together. The most difficult part is screwing the drawers in to the sliding apparatus. The second one had faulty workmanship. Part B of the frame had 1 hole that was drilled too big for the cam-bolt. Part F (drawer front) was significantly gouged and there wasn't a hole for one of the cabinet pulls. I am pleased with the final product of the 1st one but definitely disappointed with the 2nd. Customer Service representatives were pleasant and arranged for replacement parts. However, it will take 3 to 7 business days for the parts to arrive."
Review 24 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
SNAUSA
Location:Manhattan Beach, CA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Date:October 5, 2012
"This file looks great and matches the Ikea furniture we bought but does not appear to be very well made. It is assembled but I have not yet filled it with files. I'm not confident that it will be able to hold two drawers full of files without causing problems with the drawer function, etc. On looks alone, I love it. It just appears to be cheaply made. In a few years I may end up having to buy the more expensive Pottery Barn version anyway."
Review 25 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
tvanvalke
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice looking and easy to assemble
Date:October 2, 2012
"This piece is nice looking and easy to assemble. EXCEPT for putting the drawers on the sliding mechanisms. One of the screws didn't fit, and I called to get another part. they sent another part, but the problem isn't really fixed. BUT other than that it is sturdy and I love it...I won't be putting a ton of files in this but that's ok...i'm also using it for a 'tv' stand!"
Review 26 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
MintHillGramma
Date:September 7, 2012
"This cabinet was easy to put together and it looks beautiful. I know I will get great use out of it and am pleased that I bought something both attractive and functional. The contents can shift when the drawers are opened and closed, and that can cause the closed drawers to drift open slightly. It's not a huge issue because it is easily remedied by just closing the drawers carefully, but it would be better if the drawers had a lock or if they were able to "snap" shut. Overall though I am very pleased."
Review 27 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
workshard
Not meant for heavy duty use
Date:September 5, 2012
"If you want a good looking file cabinet, purchase this one but if you plan to fill this file cabinet with files and use it daily, don't purchase it. Once filled with files, the drawers do not close properly, the flimsy metal bars that hold the files continually fall out of the slots causing the files to fall to bottom of drawer. I've had it for 3 months and I'm putting it out on the curb for garbage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Difficult
Easy
CalTxgirl
Age:Under 29
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
You get what you pay for...
Date:July 9, 2012
"When purchasing this product, keep in mind it is not high quality furiture. I would compare the quality of this furniture to something you would find at target. It was a lengthy process to put it together, but luckily my husband is a handy guy. All that being said, I like the look of the finished product and after I put new, high quality hardware on it, it looks like a much more expensive piece of furniture. This is not a piece I plan on having for a seriously long time-- frankly, due to the quality, I don't think it would last a long time. But for the moment, it was what I needed for the right price and I'm happy I got it."
Review 29 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Reverend
Location:Washington DC
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Nice looking, sturdy
Date:May 18, 2012
"This is a handsome piece of furniture and we liked it so much that we ordered the Oxford workstation and the Oxford secretary for office use. So far, it works and all the drawers pull out smoothly. Putting together the piece was of moderate difficulty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
CupOJoe
Composite construction, flimsy hardware, nice look
Date:April 30, 2012
"Caution: Do NOT place a full load of papers in the drawers. The Roller bearings, which operate nicely when empty or partially filled, will bend and fail at full load. Unfortunately I now have to purchase new parts, hopefully better ones, or a new cabinet because I tried to actually put papers in it (I'd say 80percent full).
The construction is a composite, similar to high density fiberboard. If wondering what this is, I'd think of it as 1/2 inch thick ridgid cardboard. It's sturdy, but just don't get it wet. (when I purchased the unit, it was advertised as "solid wood"). I realise now, that it is not.
The unit did assemble fairly easily, if taking some time. The unit also looks nice, and opens and closes empty. However, do NOT load it more than half capacity, or you will be sorry.
Warranty service is apparently for only 90 days, expect to replace it within 2 years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
twochrisz
Great Purchase
Date:April 20, 2012
"Heavy box delivered (96 lbs.) but was expecting that. A couple of nicks here and there but also sort of expected that based on previous reviews. Not worth sending back and starting over. Just used a black Sharpie to cover up the blemishes. Overall, great value for the price."
Review 32 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
Woodsmanjeff
Fantastic product for the money
Date:April 12, 2012
"Very nice, sturdy piece of office furniture. Assembly took roughly 2 hours, but that is not too bad given the size and materials (bought the 3-drawer version.) Would have liked an option to hang files in either front-to-back, or side-to-side orientation. But for the price paid, that is a minor issue. We would definitely consider other pieces of furniture from this company."
Review 33 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
megcass
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice Purchase for an Office
Date:March 26, 2012
"You can assemble this file cabinet with one person until you have to put on the back. It is very unsteady without the back. Definitely recommend that two person are available when putting on the back. Also, I had to use bolt and nut to keep the file drawers on track. What you provided did not hold the track in place. There were also two piece that were not drilled correctly. One piece did not have the drill holes made and another had them center incorrectly. However, it looks very nice."
Review 34 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Gwenevere
Location:Salem, OH
Age:50-59
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Purchase
Date:March 20, 2012
"This lateral file cabinet was exactly what I needed. It looks great in the office and holds a vast amount of files. I also like the extra surface area it provides. It was easy to assemble, only requiring an extra set of hands now and then."
Review 35 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
kristinaR
Location:Virginia beach, VA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great value
Date:February 17, 2012
"Despite assembly instructions, I assembled this two drawer file cabinet by myself. It went together beautifully. The predrilled holes made it possible to put together simply with a screwdriver. I took my time and completed it in two days. It's a beautiful piece of furniture. I'm delighted with it."
Review 36 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
LMSDesign
Great for Value
Date:January 31, 2012
"The piece arrived and the assembly was straight forward but time consuming...don't rush it. If you have ever assembled Ikea this is a breeze.
My only real complaint would be the cross bars which allow you to file legal or letter. A little clumsy as they fall out. I would also add the manufacturer should design it so that you can choose to file front to back (as it does) or side to side (which it does not). This would add the perfect flexibility."
Review 37 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
ejamie
Location:Rivers, CA
I have owned this product for:a month
Great looking file storage solution
Date:January 22, 2012
"We have been struggling keeping paperwork on desks in office and around home organized for quite some time, and have been in the lookout for a lateral file cabinet. The non-lateral file cabinets are less easy to browse through.
We wanted something that would fit in well with upscale office decor, and not look like you are in a corporate office.
This Oxford Collection file cabinet worked for us perfectly.
The shipment arrived in less than a week, and I assembled it (by myself, except for lifting the top into place) within just a couple hours. There are only four steps to get it installed.
My only complaint, is that the drawers are attached to the drawer slides by just two screws and a slot in the wood. I can only pray that holds up after years of use...
Overall, highly recommended!"
Review 38 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
Tdavid
Location:Portland, OR
Age:40-49
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Looks awesome - great value
Date:January 13, 2012
"I am starting a small home business and purchased 2-lateral filing cabinets. After many hours of looking locally I am very thankful I ran across the Home Decorators site. These are a great value and look awesome in my home office. The first cabinet took about 2.5 hours the second was much quicker. All pieces were included in packaging and every piece was perfect in every way. I hope to purchase more pieces in the future as I grow my business."
Review 39 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
REAgent
Location:Puyallup, WA
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Nice Cabinet
Date:January 3, 2012
"Looks very nice, just not sure about the drawers opening. Seems tight, but may loosen over time. HOPEFULLY!!"
Review 40 for OXFORD LATERAL FILE CABINET
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
GDNK
Good Fit
Date:October 18, 2011
"Needed large filing cabinet. Wanted it to look like furniture. This piece is nice. Only issue is top drawer does not slide as well as you would like. But it works for what we need."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>