Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Decorators Collection.

MISSION EXPANDING CABINET

Add a Space-Saving Folding Table to Your Decor The Mission Expanding Cabinet looks like an ordinary side cabinet but can expand to a full-size dining table when unexpected guests arrive. Its Mission design makes it an easy match to most decorating styles and its solid wood and hardwood veneer construction means it's built to last. Choose the style and convenience of this furniture for your home; just order today.Crafted of select hardwoods and hardwood veneer with faux drawer accents and a long-lasting finish.Comes complete with 5 leaves to expand your cabinet to a dinette or dining table size.Leaves store in cabinet when not in use.Inspired by the classic Mission-Style of furniture, it works with most decors beautifully.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Review 1 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
BionicPelvis
Location:California
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Absolutely Perfect!
Date:March 19, 2009
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This piece is absolutely perfect for us. My husband and I don't often sit down for dinner at a table, so our dining room table ended up just being a catch-all and a waste of space. This table takes up very little space most of the time, making the room look bigger and less cluttered.
The color of this unit is much richer and more beautiful than it appeared online - we were thrilled when we unpacked it and saw how well it blended with our other furniture. It is a piece of cake to expand, even with one person. I've seen my mom struggle with their huge table leaves, but this is really a brilliant design that makes using it so easy. The shelves are all stored neatly inside the cabinet area, and there are also two shelves for additional storage. The shelves measure 10" tall x 12" deep x 15.5" wide - great for some dished or linens. The upper drawers are not real, but the drawer pull help slide the front of the table out.
We are thrilled with this table (and the matching folding chairs). I wish I had known about this when I lived in tiny apartments over the years, but now that I've found it I'll be recommending it to all my friends!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
hooli
a few problems
Date:November 28, 2011
"my piece arrived with a ding but because of the weight i felt stuck with it. transforming it into a table requires a lot of pushing and shoving sticky mechanism ingenious but flawed."
Review 3 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
ComputerManRuss
Location:Orchard Park, NY
Age:60-69
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
Great Addition but be ready...
Date:October 31, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I searched every store I could find. This was the only dealer that had an expandable dining room table. My mother had one 30 years ago and I knew it would be perfect for my newly redecorated home.
The appearance is "almost perfect". If you cast your eyes across the top of the table, you can see a small "hump" where a screw from below has pushed upward through the wood. Not a hole...not an excessively ugly blemish or distraction...but a disappointment.
I gave Workmanship only 4 stars...not because of the above but because there were no instructions. It's obvious how to open it and how to load the leaves in. However, opening it required that one hand hold the cabinet and push the slides apart. After calling a furniture store for advice, I had to apply petroleum jelly on the slides so it could be opened with much less effort. If it’s normal for the slides to stick and require excessive force to open, and adding a lubricant is necessary, there should have been instructions to say so.
One more thing: There are adjustable feet under the table. This, too, should be shown in a set of instructions. At first I thought the table was faulty. However, with help to raise the table off the floor, I was able to level it.
All in all, despite these minor issues, I love the table and YES, I’d recommend it to others.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
conboo
Just what I wanted
Date:September 17, 2011
"I looked everywhere for this type of table. With no dining room I can still have a formal dinner. I keep telling my husband about it and he didn't know what I was talking about. He is very impressed with the quality."
Review 5 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderate
Easy
judithjamp
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
Great coverup
Date:August 10, 2011
"This table is great to have especially when room is small and entertaining."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
SunnySequim
Location:Sequim, Washington
Gender:female
Great Purchase
Date:June 27, 2011
"Love this cabinet. I'm using it as my sewing table and the fact that it expands allows me to spread out and cut my fabrics. The shelf inside is perfect to store my sewing machine. When not in use, it is just a wonderful piece of furniture, well worth the cost. Delivery was made within two weeks of purchase, it was well packed and there's not a scratch on it. Friends have commented on what a great cabinet it is and when I open it up, they are just amazed. It's a great addition to our home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLBDJB
Location:Chicago
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Just like the photo!
Date:June 17, 2011
"The item is just like the photo! Just need to get chairs."
Review 8 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicagoDeb
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
PERFECTION
Date:March 7, 2011
"I just received this beautiful cabinet. It is absolutely stunning. It manages to combine sturdy and well-made with classic and beautiful. And, it comes already assembled. I had been looking for something to add a dining room to my condo and this is perfect. Thanks so much."
Review 9 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sparqs
Wonderfully practical
Date:February 2, 2011
"This was even better than we expected: clearly someone had practicality in mind. Living in a 130-year-old house with an unusual floor plan (for example, four doorways leading into the dining room), we needed something versatile that didn't take up floor space when unused. Opened completely, the table is larger than our other dining table, and looks great open or closed. I intend to use the piece in our guest house/studio next year. We bought a piece of glass to protect the the top when it's closed. Highly recommend this!"
Review 10 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
BJIr
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:December 31, 2010
"The reviews I read were very accurate. Beautiful piece. Might need a second person to expand fully but slides easily. My husband suggested we stain the sides of the wooden slides so they blend when table is expanded. Very nice piece."
Review 11 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoracise
Location:Coarsegold, CA
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
beautiful addition
Date:October 27, 2010
"we just had a dinner party and this chest/expandable table would have been a perfect addition, but it arrived after the party
I was so pleasantly surprised at how beautiful it is. I use it for a puzzle area and will expand when needed for company.
I received a call because originally the chairs I ordered did not match and they helped me pick the right chairs. They arrived yesterday and I am so pleased with how nice the folding padded chairs are. Absolutely beautiful
"
Review 12 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Moderately Easy
Easy
coachwife
Location:Davenport, IA
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Ready to Serve
Date:October 26, 2010
"I have not used the table yet but will for the big Thanksgiving dinner coming up. I tried setting it up and it was fairly easy to do. However, no instructions came with the table, so I was not sure about the middle leg set up. The leaves are heavy and sturdy. The overall construction is very good. The wood color was a nice fit with my other furniture in the room. We have our TV on top of the buffet and it this works well for our small room. Anxious to use in a few weeks."
Review 13 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starchild
Location:Big Rapids, MI
Age:60-69
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
No more TV trays on holidays!
Date:September 23, 2010
"Our family is very pleased with this expanding table! It arrived quickly and safely, except for one drawer pull, which was broken. It was replaced immediately after my husband called.
We can't wait for Thanksgiving!"
Review 14 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
evette
Location:kanss
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a month
space saver
Date:August 29, 2010
"small house, large extended family, problem solved"
Review 15 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
penguinbuddy
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a month
My favorite piece of furniture
Date:June 7, 2010
"I have wanted one of thjese for 20 years when I saw one at my Grandmothers friends house,I was amazed at the way one day it looked like a desk,and the next a buffet line or banquet table. I have looked all over until I found it on line finally at home decorations . I was very happy and after it got delivered and the delivery guy was more than happy to deliver it and help me get it in my house,I was elated I will enjoy it for years to come.My best investment in a long time."
Review 16 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
Christmasmom
Location:Washington State
Age:50-59
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Mission Expanding Cabinet Best Furniture Purchase
Date:December 17, 2009
"I had been looking at this in the catalog for months debating on the quality & price. I purchased it for a Christmas gift for my daughter & son-in-law moving into their first home. It arrived in just a few days and just before the housewarming party! Everyone was so impressed with the color and style and quality. The other plus was I could use my Home Depot card to purchase it . I am very pleased with this purchase and the company! The kids will buy their own folding chairs with the Home Depot gift cards they received!"
Review 17 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
kywyldkat
Location:NC
Age:30-39
Gender:female
I have owned this product for:a week
Great Spacesaver!
Date:December 11, 2009
"Great spacesaver for anyone like me who doesnt eat at a dining room table every day. Easy to pull out and set up. I matched it with the folding chairs and it looks great! Awesome idea and value for the price!"
Review 18 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
twcny
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:40-49
Gender:male
I have owned this product for:a week
Date:June 12, 2009
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 19 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Difficult
Easy
Easy
bookie
Location:Northwest Indiana
Even Better Than Expected!
Date:May 25, 2009
"Ordered this piece to replace a similar table lost in a flood last fall. This table is even better than the one I had for over twenty years! The pegs in the extensions are stainless steel-not wood-and the peg holes are stainless steel lined. Being able to fold the leaves in half to store in the cabinet is a big improvement. The piece came fully assembled and perfectly packaged for shipping. Even the delivery truck driver was impressed with the piece."
Review 20 for MISSION EXPANDING CABINET
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vikk
Love this Table
Date:January 19, 2009
"I have been looking for a table like this ever since I saw my sister-in-laws. I had never seen a full-length dining room table pull out of a cabinet like this, and was in awe. I have been wanting to get rid of my full size dining table for some years now, as I only use it once a year or so, and this way I can completely change the room, but yet still have a nice dining table to pull out when entertaining. I was delighted when this furniture was delieverd, no assembly required, and the wood is a nice color that blends in with everything else in my room. The table pulls out easily, and the leaves are easy to put in. I also love how the leaves have storage within the cabinet, and there is also storage on the other side. Thank you for making such a nice product. After all of my searching for this particular item, I am thrilled at my 'find'."